It is currently Tue Nov 29, 2022 5:54 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: rec live synthesizer melody to 505, using 505's metronome?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 4:46 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2021 7:23 pm
Posts: 85
Hi.
Is possible to rec in the sp 505, a melody that i play in a synthesizer live, while listening to the metronome from sp 505. Is any other way to give me rhythm while rec?
Thank in advance.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: rec live synthesizer melody to 505, using 505's metronom
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 8:11 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7721
Location: France-Italy
i think that the only possibility should be to try to record it while on resampling mode, but i forget if the 505 allow you to do that, the sp 303 and the 505 coming from the same period maybe this is possible...you could try for example to have a loop of the desired bpm on a pad and then resample the synth on another...but this makes you add the two sample in one pad...btw, now that i'm thinkig, another primitive possibility is this: check on the production techinque the Dakim method (or maybe on the freedom to speech): basically is a strategy to use the infinite delay, even when a loop is off, so this way this let you have a rythm sort of, without the sequencer and so you could record a sample at the same time;)

let me know

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: rec live synthesizer melody to 505, using 505's metronom
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 9:34 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2021 7:23 pm
Posts: 85
I tried the resample method and works, but as you say, you have to resample the drum sequence first. I wonder if can set clock from the sequencer of the 505 to the sequencer of the Skulpt, via midi.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: rec live synthesizer melody to 505, using 505's metronom
PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 12:00 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7721
Location: France-Italy
K.loor wrote:
I tried the resample method and works, but as you say, you have to resample the drum sequence first. I wonder if can set clock from the sequencer of the 505 to the sequencer of the Skulpt, via midi.

yes you can do that
see in the midi section of the manual, set the same midi channel on the 2 machines and it's ok

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: rec live synthesizer melody to 505, using 505's metronom
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2022 6:50 am 
Member

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2021 7:23 pm
Posts: 85
After many many tries am in!!
Works via midi!! I set the 505 sequencer as master in the 95 bpm and the Skulpt's sequencer as slave. So, now i can write a melody in the Sculpt's sequencer and recorded it, in one pad of the 505 via resample, in the same bpm.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: rec live synthesizer melody to 505, using 505's metronom
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2022 8:40 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7721
Location: France-Italy
nice;)

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: