It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:23 pm

Post subject: SP-404 no longer powers up
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 12:13 pm 

I recently got two SP-404 samplers. One works perfectly after fixing the CF socket but the other refuses to switch on.

They guy I got it from says it just stopped powering on one day.

I'm a fairly competent tech and I've gone over the board checking for blow components and that the voltages are there. Everything seems present and correct.

I've even swapped the good board from my other SP-404 with the broken board and the good board works in the other unit and the broken board fails as before.

All I can think of is there's some corruption in the OS Flash ROM.
I've tried to update the OS via CF but as the SP-404 doesn't even boot it can't reinstall itself.

How can I reload the Flash ROM?

Send it off to Roland?

Post subject: Re: SP-404 no longer powers up
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:59 pm 

Yup you gotta send it off to Rolly. Good luck amigo :)

Also, welcome to the forums!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:01 pm 
Awesome Member

same shit with batteries?

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:05 pm 

Batteries or PSU gives the same non-responsiveness. The power is fine on the board as it seems.

As I said, I've swapped the motherboard with a working one and the other boards in the broken SP-404 are fine.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:44 pm