It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:32 pm

Post subject: Can you use the SP-404SX as a full song playback device?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:04 am 

I'm a solo artist that uses full-length backing tracks as part of my live set, and sing/play guitar/drums over them. Right now, I use a basic MP3 player, which can be kind of clunky to navigate back and forth to find a song.

I keep hearing the SP-404SX can accomodate really long sample times. Would it be possible for me to:
1) Load all 20+ of my 3-4 minute stereo .wav files into an SP project, assigning each as a one-shot sample to a pad across a couple banks.
2) When I want to play a track, I just hit the appropriate pad and it would mute any other track that's playing (i.e be set to monophonic).
3) If that's possible, how long would it take to load such a project? This would be for live use, so expediency is important.

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Can you use the SP-404SX as a full song playback device?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:28 pm 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal

Hello!

1) yes, and the 404 is the ideal machine for it

2) no mute groups, but yes this can be accomplished with one of two workarounds that are.....

3)...... instantaneous 8)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 2:57 am 

Awesome to hear!

So, my main two questions:
1) How long would such a project--with about 1.25 hours' worth of stereo .wav audio--take to load? Or does it stream from the SD Card? I come from MPC land, where things take forever to load.

2) What's the technique for mimicking mute groups? For instance, if I meant to play Pad 2, but accidentally hit Pad 3, can I set it so hitting Pad 2 will mute/stop Pad 3 and start playing Pad 3? Or do I just hit Pad 3 again to stop it, and hit Pad 2.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 5:37 pm 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal