It is currently Fri Nov 27, 2020 8:01 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:47 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:23 am
Posts: 562
The manual of the sp-404 tells you how you can make a copy of a sample using the resample function but that is of course a non viable way of copying samples since it will degrade the quality of your copies (try for yourself to make resamples of resamples of resamples of resamples ... and compare the initial sample and to final copy). Last but not least you can not copy a pattern like this.

Now how to make a real copy of a sample/pattern in the sp-404:

Needed: a good size cf card inserted in the sp-404 card slot.

1. Make sure the samples/sequences you want to copy are located on the internal banks of the 404 (aka bank A & B)

2. Make sure the pattern mode is NOT selected.

3. Backup the internal memory to te cf card (that's why you needed that card :-)) (manual pg.40)

4. Move all the samples and patterns you want to copy, to pads on the external memory (Banks C-J) (manual pg. 28 and pg.37)

5. Now reload the backup made in step 3 (manual pg. 40) and you have now a copy of your samples and or patterns all in 1 go. If you have a big enough memory card you can copy 24 samples and 24 patterns in one go.

6. You can now delete the backup from the memory card if you want to make space.

Don't forget this works exactly the same on the sp-303
Props to Chulukinat and Flying Lotus for pointing me into the right direction.

_________________
Get your fix of Lo-Fience here!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 3:02 am
Posts: 65
Good shit.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:27 am 
404 Award Winner '09 + Beat of the Year '09 + Tape of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:37 am
Posts: 2235
Location: New York
props

_________________
Image
Image

http://www.myspace.com/juxtkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:40 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:24 pm
Posts: 10
this shit saved my day!!! :D


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:17 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 7:12 am
Posts: 1358
Location: tohoku, japan
this should stuck in S.P.I. section. so many people are confused about this. very good explanation.

_________________
insert funny comment here.
http://soundcloud.com/jon-ill


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:02 am 
Funniest Member of the Year '09

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:06 am
Posts: 1878
i still cant do a flying lotus, i think remaking patterns is cool, but im gonna sit down, smoke a fatty and learn this flying lotus shit once and for all.

_________________
I/O - EHT - Evangelist.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:30 pm 
Most Helpful Member of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:13 am
Posts: 2779
Location: Netherlands
master Lo wrote:
i still cant do a flying lotus, i think remaking patterns is cool, but im gonna sit down, smoke a fatty and learn this flying lotus shit once and for all.


I am sure you've long since figured it out, but I thought I should add that when people get stuck, it's usually because the padbanks A and B are locked.

If you did a back-up previously to unlocking those padbanks, they will be locked again after loading that back up.

Hence, you should always make sure first to unlock the padbanks A and B (protect off = hold cancel + turn SP ON ), before doing back-ups.

This sort of gave me a small headache today, but I finally found the cause in a Note in the manual. :p

_________________
"A man who misses his opportunity, and a monkey who misses his branch,
cannot be saved."

www.myspace.com/phemoxband
www.myspace.com/phemox
www.soundclick.com/phemox


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples and sequences
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:40 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 6:28 am
Posts: 21
if anyone ever figures out a way to resample a pattern to a sample pad...let me know.

_________________
www.myspace.com/isitchits
extra-ordinary


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples and sequences
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 8:39 pm 
Member

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:53 pm
Posts: 799
Location: Home
record it out to something, then record it back in and mark it properly


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples and sequences
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:27 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:51 pm
Posts: 466
Location: Holland
CHITS wrote:
if anyone ever figures out a way to resample a pattern to a sample pad...let me know.


I use a 404 and 303 for that, they are good brothers.

_________________
SIMON DA PITCH SHIFTA


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples and sequences
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:07 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:46 am
Posts: 189
I have a 303. Any clue if this works on it?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:50 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:51 am
Posts: 280
Location: Imaginal Realm
Kalaba wrote:
I have a 303. Any clue if this works on it?


pt3r wrote:
Don't forget this works exactly the same on the sp-303


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples and sequences
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:30 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:44 am
Posts: 62
... as in THE Flying Lotus? :shock: Lol damn wonder how the heck he managed to discover this workaround xD

_________________
Various shenanigans:
http://soundcloud.com/jon_blount
jondegozaru.bandcamp.com
___________~~~~~~~~~~~~~____________


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples and sequences
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 12:44 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 18
i think the SP404SX has a FUNC+COPY button right? idk if that's the same this post is talking about. if you use the FUNC+COPY to copy the sample, you don't need to resample and then you will only need to resample it if you want to add a new kick or snare to it. am i correct? I guess you're talking about the OG 404


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples and sequences
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:40 am 
New member

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:35 am
Posts: 1
You can make a copy of the statement in SP-404 with the copy function. You just need to create a shallow copy of the statement in the black box on essay writers for hire then it will redirect and when the user will change the value it will automatically change both sides.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: