It is currently Sat Apr 10, 2021 2:30 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SP-202 busted? fixable? pls help me diagnose!
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:55 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2020 8:55 pm
Posts: 4
Can anybody help me diagnose a non-functioning SP-202. Here are the symptoms:

When I turn it on, the LED either a. Flashes "0" and then goes dark, or b. Shows "000" and the "DEL" pad lights up. None of the buttons or pads do anything.

I got it to start up in "test mode" a few times (by holding "down" and "tap" while powering on). In that case, the LED still only shows "000," but all the pads light up. Pressing "up arrow" makes the effects pads light up in a cycle, pressing "up arrow" again cycles through all the pads, but pressing "up arrow" a third time freezes the unit.

It's the same whether I use batteries or a 9v ac adapter. The line-in and mic inputs are still passing audio with "Source Mix" turned on.

Any tips or info on repair shops, resources, etc.?

Thanks in advance for your help and guidance!

_________________
http://ikaia.bandcamp.com


Last edited by ikaia on Fri Aug 21, 2020 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP-202 busted? fixable? pls help me diagnose!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 1:40 am 
New member

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 2:47 am
Posts: 8
Ironically enough the seller could be telling the truth.
The unit did work when you got it so the with the age of the SP-202 it could have simply failed once in your possession.

Is the power adapter you used a Boss power supply or a generic one?

_________________
Members of the Family: (1) SP-808 (1) A-6 (3) SP-202 (1) SP-404
Sold: (2) SP-303 (2) SP-202 (1) SP-505


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP-202 busted? fixable? pls help me diagnose!
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2020 2:35 am 
New member

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2020 8:55 pm
Posts: 4
Yeah fair enough, they actually gave a partial refund so I'm not too upset.

I would still like to figure out if it can be fixed! Any thoughts? I had tested it out with a generic (onespot) ac adapter which worked, but was running it on AA batteries when it failed.

_________________
http://ikaia.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP-202 busted? fixable? pls help me diagnose!
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2020 6:41 am 
New member

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2020 8:55 pm
Posts: 4
Incidentally, I would love to see Roland/Boss reissue the sp-202! It would have to have the same sampling workflow, standard/lo-fi quality modes, and pitch effect, but with extended sampling time and modern sd card support. Imagine what a winner that would be!

_________________
http://ikaia.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: