It is currently Thu Feb 09, 2023 12:00 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:47 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:21 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

New user on the SP-202 here. I had a quick question...

Is it possible to copy a sample from a pad to another pad on the 202, or do I need to actually resample it from the source? I looked through the manual but I didn't see anything covering it.

Thanks.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:14 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7724
Location: France-Italy
no copy.
sorry.
a workaround maybe could be done via the smartmedia...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Online
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:01 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:18 am
Posts: 917
Location: The desert.
I just tried to access my 202 card from 3 diff computers- no love. I got one reader on a desktop to at least light up but no format the computer wanted to see. Tried on a Mac too. Then I did a backup on the 202 for the first time and tried again- nothing.
Now I seem to have learned there is no way to delete backups off the card once you use up that space. heh. Oops. Damn.
I tried- I get really curious about stuff like this.

So easy on the other SP line esp the 404SX where you can just plug it in, go in and swap samples around, copy them, etc. as long as you keep with the naming scheme you can see all the backups and samples right there.

They are also 5volt cards not the 3.3volt that follwed/replaced the 5V. Might be part of the problem.

Might be interesting to see if Ubuntu or other Linux could see contents of card.

C

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/clifford-novey
SP-202, SP-404SX (main one I use), SP-505, SP-555, ES-1, ESX-1, RS7000, etc.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:21 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7724
Location: France-Italy
Om_Audio wrote:
I just tried to access my 202 card from 3 diff computers- no love. I got one reader on a desktop to at least light up but no format the computer wanted to see. Tried on a Mac too. Then I did a backup on the 202 for the first time and tried again- nothing.
Now I seem to have learned there is no way to delete backups off the card once you use up that space. heh. Oops. Damn.
I tried- I get really curious about stuff like this.

from my experience with 3.3 volts SM cards this doesn't sounds good...do your card reader works well? or have you got possibility to try another one? do your card works well? i mean, have you noticed strangness with it into the 202?

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Online
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:33 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:18 am
Posts: 917
Location: The desert.
Have not used the 202 much at all since I got it. No probs though. The question is has ANY 202 owner EVER mounted their SM card and been able to see/copy/modify the contents. The 202 requires the older 5V cards. I do not know if either of the readers I tried were 3.3V only or also 5V. The good thing is that the card is 5V so putting it in a 3.3V only reader will not damage it but it wont work either.

From Wikipedia:
"SmartMedia cards came in two formats, 5 V and the more modern 3.3 V (sometimes marked 3 V), named for their main supply voltages. The packaging was nearly identical, except for the reversed placement of the notched corner. Many older SmartMedia devices only support 5V SmartMedia cards, whereas many newer devices only support 3.3V cards. In order to protect 3.3V cards from being damaged in 5V-only devices, the card reader should have some mechanical provision (such as detecting the type of notch) to disallow insertion of an unsupported type of card. Some low-cost, 5V-only card readers do not operate this way, and inserting a 3.3V card into such a 5V-only reader will result in permanent damage to the card. Dual-voltage card readers are highly recommended."

ellaguru wrote:
Om_Audio wrote:
I just tried to access my 202 card from 3 diff computers- no love.

from my experience with 3.3 volts SM cards this doesn't sounds good...do your card reader works well? or have you got possibility to try another one? do your card works well? i mean, have you noticed strangness with it into the 202?

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/clifford-novey
SP-202, SP-404SX (main one I use), SP-505, SP-555, ES-1, ESX-1, RS7000, etc.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:06 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 8:43 am
Posts: 344
Location: Brighton, UK
202 = make beat, record beat out, delete.

I don't backup samples on this machine. Lose that shit to the sands of time for extra lo-fi. :D

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/thejezter
https://thejezter.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:24 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:42 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hartford
I bounce from 202 to 404 and back all day

I love the processing options and internal resample on the 404 and the filter and lofi settings of the 202.. with a patch bay you can get more speed/productivity

and the 404 memory card goes straight into the adaptor on my mac


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:36 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:48 am
Posts: 168
Recording the same sample onto two pads sounds like a lot quicker than anything else wth the 202.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/gry.clds
http://artbydis.tumblr.com/
http://instagram.com/gryclds
https://twitter.com/gryclds


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Copy samples?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2022 9:49 pm 
New member

Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 11:06 pm
Posts: 9
The SP-202 doesn’t have enough going on inside to manage a filesystem, it’s writing raw data directly to the card, so there’s nothing for an OS to mount.

Think of it this way: a memory card is blank paper. You can write things on the blank paper, but if the person trying to read it doesn’t know the language you wrote it in, they can’t read it. The SP-202 doesn’t write in a format that a desktop OS can read.

However. A bit-for-bit backup copy of the contents of the card should be perfectly doable, in the same way that someone can copy text they can’t read. I have a 5V SM reader on the way from eBay right now, and I’m going to try doing a raw backup and see if I can write it back to the card and have the SP read it.

I don’t know that it’s possible to manipulate the backup image to do anything useful with it (since Roland hasn’t published anything about the format of the memory card, and the data is likely to be in Roland’s proprietary, closed-source RDAC compression scheme), but it will at least be duplicated.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: