It is currently Fri Oct 22, 2021 4:33 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:00 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: France-Italy
http://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.synthanatomy.com%2F2019%2F09%2Froland-mc-707-mc-101-all-in-one-grooveboxes-introduced.html&h=AT3qu-6OjqLubNZLukzODhhvJFAc2bScA1Dj2mXb9wkbmcY0ljmejlEFlrh-08LLdcYu4QMDmnLDk2t8-OIUBV5UwxHb3pyJEsZFZ3ML5sBchoZe9cgmKBXnU-LBRgXJXnuc728v3w
Grooveboxes + sampling...
I have to read better that
... Little screen on the 707..mmm...it should be the continuation of mc909/mc808 but....

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Online
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:04 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:42 pm
Posts: 910
Location: Des Moines, WA
https://www.musicradar.com/reviews/roland-mc-707

All I can say is it’s about friggin time Roland stepped up to their own game. Playing samples chromatically means it’s no SP, but in theory you can do crazy stuff like the sampled vocals of Nu Shooz’s “I can’t wait”, and play those samples where you want on your keypads or connected to a midi controller.

It can’t do everything. It’s not quite a looper. You record a clip but it’s not as easy as a SP to loop. Also, you’re gonna be doing a lot of menu diving. And it probably needs as many updates as Roland can program for it to fine tune it.

Other than that, it looks fun. Will I buy one? Probably next year.

_________________
Livin my life in da underground


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:20 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: France-Italy
Headphones wrote:
Also, you’re gonna be doing a lot of menu diving

yes, i noticed that...it has a little screen...(so maybe it's conceived to work with pc? like the mc808?)...i still keep my mc909, it has also 16 tracks (vs the mc707 -8 tracks...)...i have to read specs somewhere

edit
"No one-shot sampling or loop-slicing"...damn...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Online
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2019 4:09 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: France-Italy
the screen reminds me on elektron type of...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Online
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 1:00 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:47 pm
Posts: 553
this got input sampling ? not just from SD .

Looks nice these .. the price is pheasable .. the sounds are appealing too

_________________
/ Krisso The Great /
Spotify Google Deezer Youtube


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:09 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: France-Italy
THEGREAT wrote:
this got input sampling ?


i think you can directly sample

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Online
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:25 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:46 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Estonia
707 can, 101 can't.

_________________
MPC 1000 x SP404SX x Octatrack


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2021 1:38 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:42 pm
Posts: 910
Location: Des Moines, WA
I’m really thinking of getting a MC101. I don’t care that it can’t sample. It uses 4 tracks, 1 for drums, 3 for melody, but with that Zen Core engine, you could download a library of synths or drum sounds, and it’s compact and portable. It can pretty much do what it’s big brother can, but I could see myself just using it for chord changes & synth stabs. Not sure if I would use the drums, but they’re there and I could add swing & probability which my other drum machines can’t do. So there’s that.

There’s also a cousin drum machine with the TR-6S. Same size as the MC101, but it’s a shrunk down version of the TR8S. It has a FM synth engine. Nothing too complex, but it’s there to get some different sounds you won’t get anywhere else.

_________________
Livin my life in da underground


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2021 12:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 10:00 am
Posts: 357
I think the MC-101 is a great little device. Shame you can't sample from an analogue input but at least you can load it with samples from an SD card, and you can sample standalone as long as you're sampling the 101's own output, so it does at least have proper standalone resampling.

I reckon something all homies should be aware of is the way Roland have listed the specs (it's a bit careless). They're actually under-selling this device instead of over-selling it, cause technically it's got eight tracks, not four.

In terms of recording, a track is generally referred to in mono capacity, so that two tracks make stereo, and four tracks means two stereo tracks, one stereo and two mono, or four mono. What the MC-101 has though is actually "Four Stereo Tracks" which makes it a heck of a lot more viable than the specs Roland have listed for it.

Roland list it as having "Four Tracks" when the correct terminology for what it has is "Four Stereo Tracks". It's as big a deal as a four-track cassette multi-track user would feel about suddenly having four stereo tracks to play with as opposed to four mono ones. Makes all the difference cause it means you don't use-up extra tracks for stereo panorama.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Roland waking up? Mc707 + mc101
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:58 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: France-Italy
SP-USER wrote:
Roland list it as having "Four Tracks" when the correct terminology for what it has is "Four Stereo Tracks". It's as big a deal as a four-track cassette multi-track user would feel about suddenly having four stereo tracks to play with as opposed to four mono ones. Makes all the difference cause it means you don't use-up extra tracks for stereo panorama.

that's good news

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Online
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: