It is currently Sun Jul 05, 2020 2:27 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sp-303 issue - Static/crackle when recording into Logic...
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:33 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:27 pm
Posts: 3
Hello...I recently bought an SP-303 on eBay and am having issues with it...I can't tell if it's faulty or if I'm doing something wrong. Any help would be much appreciated!

I'm trying to load samples from my laptop into the 303, then record back into Logic with some of the 303s FX applied. I can get samples onto the pads fine, but when recording back into Logic, they have a really bad crackly/static sound. Sounds like it's been badly bitcrushed, especially melodic stuff.

I've got an RCA-to-quarter-inch lead connecting the 303 to my audio interface. I've also tried recording from the headphone out into the interface with a different cable. I've made sure levels are low so there should be no clipping.

The weird thing is samples sound fine through headphones plugged into the 303, but shitty when arriving into Logic. I bought my interface new about a month ago and am using brand new cables so can't imagine the problem is with them.

Anyone have any ideas what could be causing this? Thanks!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Sp-303 issue - Static/crackle when recording into Logic.
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 7:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:23 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
If samples are ok in headphones, it seems the problem is in your soundcard / computer...
Do you have the same issue if you record anything else (not SP303) to your computer?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Sp-303 issue - Static/crackle when recording into Logic.
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:09 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:27 pm
Posts: 3
I record guitar, bass and a mic through the interface regularly with no problems at all...It's pretty much brand new (Motu M4). This is driving me nuts!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Sp-303 issue - Static/crackle when recording into Logic.
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:55 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:23 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Czech Republic
line level (or headphones level) from sp303 is louder than level from instrument or even mic. Check if gain on your audio sound card isn't set too hot. You can also try to record something from a phone e.g. to check if it causes the same problem.
As I said, if SP303 is OK in the headphones, problem seem to be in your soundcard / computer (or cable).


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Sp-303 issue - Static/crackle when recording into Logic.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:23 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:27 pm
Posts: 3
Awesome, just tried it again and seems to be working fine now.

Weird I'm sure I tried recording with gain way down already but it wasn't working before...anyway, all good now. Thanks for your help!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: