It is currently Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:45 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: a mistake
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:14 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:40 pm
Posts: 6
Hi:
why sp-404 sx can not mix samples or loops have different tempo
A simple software can this
but this unit can not
I mistake buy this unit


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:19 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 6:08 am
Posts: 32
Hook it up to a virtual daw, for individual tracks.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:16 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:47 pm
Posts: 247
resample them ishes together

_________________
insta .. @krissolovemusic


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:09 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:20 pm
Posts: 154
atrin wrote:
Hi:
why sp-404 sx can not mix samples or loops have different tempo
A simple software can this
but this unit can not
I mistake buy this unit


um you can change the tempo of any sample on the sp404sx

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/zendanisdead
beet farmer
"If you want that '90s sound record at 12bit as hot as you can."


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:52 am 
Member

Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:14 pm
Posts: 13
I guess you were expecting to see a 'SYNC' button somewhere on the SP
kekekeke
Well, like someone already stated above - hook it up to DAW.
I make most of my samples on the SP 404 sx, but 9/10 times I trim them in Cubase - so I get brutally seamless loops.
Of course, since I'm there - I turn on couple of plug ins, just for fun (Ultramaximizer, compressor, etc)

Bottom line is - use software to trim the loops perfectly, until you master the trimming on the SP itself


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:55 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Out the back.Im digging up the yard and spying on the devil
atrin wrote:
Hi:
why sp-404 sx can not mix samples or loops have different tempo
A simple software can this
but this unit can not
I mistake buy this unit


Yes you can dude.

As Zendanisdead has stated above you can change the tempo of any sample on the sp-404 sx

You need to apply the TIME/BPM controller fx to adjust and set the tempo of the individual samples and then hit resampling to record them...It's a very straightforward process to follow.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/user-58305257


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:23 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:45 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Washington
If you're going to make beats on the 404sx it's better to think of it as an instrument. You have to do most the work yourself. & even some of it's features (ie: quantize, sequencer, time stretch) aren't the easiest to use. Which is why it's my fav piece of gear....it's a challenge.....you build skills....chop those loops up & get creative.....or use it to make sounds....or record full beats on it & use it to play beats live.........or sell it


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:08 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:40 pm
Posts: 6
LoopmantrA wrote:
I guess you were expecting to see a 'SYNC' button somewhere on the SP
kekekeke
Well, like someone already stated above - hook it up to DAW.
I make most of my samples on the SP 404 sx, but 9/10 times I trim them in Cubase - so I get brutally seamless loops.
Of course, since I'm there - I turn on couple of plug ins, just for fun (Ultramaximizer, compressor, etc)

Bottom line is - use software to trim the loops perfectly, until you master the trimming on the SP itself


you guessed true exactly
this is my idea:without synch button this unit is not perfect


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:10 pm 
New member

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:40 pm
Posts: 6
and thank you so much for all of replies
and informations


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:46 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:14 pm
Posts: 13
atrin wrote:

you guessed true exactly
this is my idea:without synch button this unit is not perfect


Don't give up on it yet, it's an awesome machine - and fwiw, what it lacks in terms of quick work flow, it compensates with amazing versatility and pushing your creativity further. It literally PUSHES you towards it, trust me - it's a great piece of equipment.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:02 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Out the back.Im digging up the yard and spying on the devil
Sharris wrote:
If you're going to make beats on the 404sx it's better to think of it as an instrument. You have to do most the work yourself. & even some of it's features (ie: quantize, sequencer, time stretch) aren't the easiest to use. Which is why it's my fav piece of gear....it's a challenge.....you build skills....chop those loops up & get creative.....or use it to make sounds....or record full beats on it & use it to play beats live.........or sell it


Nailed it.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/user-58305257


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:18 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:55 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Out the back.Im digging up the yard and spying on the devil
[quote="LoopmantrA"

Don't give up on it yet, it's an awesome machine - and fwiw, what it lacks in terms of quick work flow, it compensates with amazing versatility and pushing your creativity further. It literally PUSHES you towards it, trust me - it's a great piece of equipment.[/quote]


Excellent comment

This is exactly how the 404 should be used.

It's not some magic box that's gonna turn you into Madlib overnight (or whoever else is popular with the herd that week) not talking about anyone here but the internet is awash with people who just don't seem to grasp the fact that it's an instrument and like any instrument theres a learning process involved that actually takes time ..something that a lot of people who buy these machines don't seem to want to invest in ,alas.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/user-58305257


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:26 am
Posts: 136
Location: Not close enough to a beach
Sharris wrote:
If you're going to make beats on the 404sx it's better to think of it as an instrument. You have to do most the work yourself. & even some of it's features (ie: quantize, sequencer, time stretch) aren't the easiest to use. Which is why it's my fav piece of gear....it's a challenge.....you build skills....chop those loops up & get creative.....or use it to make sounds....or record full beats on it & use it to play beats live.........or sell it


Exactly, upon purchase I thought it was an easy beat box. Upon arrival I quickly realized it was as organic as my acoustic guitar. Like anything else it takes time to maximize the limitations.

_________________
Keep Liven

SP-404SX


Online
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:16 pm 
Member

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:58 am
Posts: 92
regardless of your issue, yes you mistake buy this unit buddy


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: a mistake
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 6:08 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:45 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Washington
Yeah, even tho I love my sp I know it's not for everyone. At first I was going to comment that the sp is not for you given the fact you're surprised there's no sync button, but it has a lot of uses. If I were you I would read the manual, watch youtube vids, experiment, play around with it & find out what it can do for you prior to deciding on selling it.

& some late advice - Do research prior to buying.... don't expect something to do something just because it's 2018 & software can do it. There are SOOO many different types of software & hardware, all with different features. Think about the things that are important to you & PRIOR to buying something, make sure it has the features you want......


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: