It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:36 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:38 am 
Member

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:19 am
Posts: 16
How do you guys bounce between two sps? I have a 303 and 404sx, and i cant figure out if you guys just double up on RCA cables for the inputs and outputs, or if you swap them between the RCA's.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 10:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:47 am
Posts: 611
Location: Gothenburg SE
I usually run them in series.. when I'm using just 303 and 404sx I run the audio source thru the 303, to 404sx and 404 outputs to my amp/speakers.

The 404 is last in the chain because I can eject the sd card and copy the file to the laptop for any mastering and/or processing or to bounce it through again. 303 memory card not so good for getting the files off the machine.

When I use my 808 in the mix I can run the audio source through one input and run the 404 end-of-the-chain into the second input of the 808, which for me is really the ultimate sp setup since you can bounce between all three machines quite selectively making use of ext source buttons/level ins on all machines. The only thing that would improve it is if the 404 could do external source resampling like the 303 and 808.

That said, having stuff playing on the 404 and resampling on either of the other two while playing in time can just be bounced afterwards to a separate pad on the 404 for layering. Do this a lot with the basic 303/404 setup.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/l_i_f
https://l-i-f.bandcamp.com/
_________________

SP-808 | SP-303 | SP-555 | SP-404sx | Ableton 9 | Tascam 244 | Adobe Audition 1.5


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 7:51 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 6:28 am
Posts: 13
i have my 404 and 303 routed with ableton.

i got a komplete 6 interface so i got the right amount of inputs and oputputs to make it work.

i got the outs from the interface running into my 404 that goes to my 303 then back into the interface. and its all set up with ableton


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 11:40 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:23 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Czech Republic
Solving same shit right now with sp303 and minikaosspad 2s.
I have some idea:
You can connect 303's output to 404's input and 404's output to 303's input. Connect Both outputs simultaneously (double RCA outputs) to ON/ON 2 pole switch to switch between 303's or 404's output going to mix (amplifier).
http://i43.tinypic.com/2dv1uzt.png
I think this is the easiest solution, but there's another problem - connecting other source to one of the samplers.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2017 3:46 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 197
Location: Austin TX
the 505 and 606 both have r.c.a. in and out, coaxial in and out and optical in and out.


Image

Image

I first connect my 606 to my computer via USB to make it my default interface. i also set the input switch to mix so the computer can "hear" what’s going on inside the 606.

I connect my turntable to the 606 and send the coaxial out to the 505. the 505's RCA output goes to my alesis m1 active320usb 1/8th" stereo input (it's an interface as well as monitors).

Image

the usb from the speaker is then connected to my Ubuntu machine. I then use
Code:
"alsa_in -j "m1 active" -d hw:1 -m 512"
to create an extra input port from the speaker. I can then use the "jack audio connection kit" to connect that to recording software or back to the 606.

because the 505 only records coaxial when you tell it to, I avoid horrible feedback.

Here you see some of my routing possibilities
https://imgur.com/PMrZTyt
in that pic the m1active350usb is system

I also have the 505 slaved to the 606 via midi, so the 606 is the master clock. it also helps when you need the 505 to respond to and record velocity since the 505 pads have none.

it all work well together.

Image

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:15 pm 
New member

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:28 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Cornwall,Ontario
I'm running two sp404sx's through a numark 2 channel usb mixer, which let's me record my sessions into a daw, and I can also perform live if I choose to hook up to an amp.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:34 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:23 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Czech Republic
Ok. Finally I finished The Switcher.
It has 2 positions, I call it Sample and Resample.

1. SAMPLE
- PC output (use any sound source you want) goes to Mini Kaoss Pad 2S Input
- MiniKP2S Output goes to Boss SP303 Input
- SP303 Output goes to Master output (mixer, than Amp).

2. RESAMPLE
- PC output goes to SP303 Input
- SP303 Output goes to MiniKP2S Input
- Also SP303 Output goes to Master Output

I used ON/ON 4 pole toggle switch, 6x 3,5 jack socket and tin simmilar to Altoids
Schematics shows the connections (left) and switch connections (right)
Soldering job is quite dirty, but what the hell.
Bear in mind that all in and out connections on switch are doubled because of stereo.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:04 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 10:47 pm
Posts: 107
Good idea with the switcher, strangely enough I was thinking about one of those today.

I've been swapping the RCA's every time to bounce back and forth between my 303 & SX, then when it's done put the card in my laptop.

Anyone reckon this could damage the ports over time? I've heard a lot about broken 303 outputs and it's not something I particularly want to deal with.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/alecsdelarge

https://delawon.bandcamp.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:53 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:23 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Czech Republic
I also don't want to swap connectors every time. You can use headphone out / mic in on your SP, but switcher is the easiest solution, I think. Bear in mind I'm using Mini Kaoss pad 2S and it has Always external input ON (sending line in signal to its output).


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: BOUNCING RCA setup
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:26 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:50 pm
Posts: 4
I've been trying to find the right workflow with the 202/404sx myself. Rn I've got my pc[audacity] > 202 >404 >audacity but I really wish i could just cut the pc out entirely besides being a source of samples.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: javelsedet and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: