It is currently Sun Dec 15, 2019 6:34 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: struggling with the 404sx sample tempo
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 2:48 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 18
hi guys, i bought a 404sx 3 days ago. so i made a drum loop and set the metronome to 81 bpms. the first 1 bar loop is correct and shows 81 bpms. then i resample it to 2 bars loop and is also alright, showing 81 bpms. i have this other 2 bar drum loop with 81 bpms on some other pad. when a resample the loops (sort of merge them) the final 4 bar loop shows to be 121 bpms :(( i can't fix this dont know why. and i throw the pads at exact same time the metronome clicks so idk why it shows 121 bpms. just because it's 4 bars? idk nothing about music theory so must have be missing something. also if I resample de 2 bar loop (the same one) to a 4 bar loop, it shows 121 bpms, so i guess the problem is that the 404 can't identify 4 bars loops bpm correctly? hmm help me please i'm going insane because of this, i don't get how something so simple does not work properly. also, i loaded a music sample already chopped to be a loop and when a select its bpms and change to half/double it does not affect the sample. every single sample i got are not affect by the bpm change. this feature is only to display the bpms (double or half) or you can actually change the bpm? i saw a video that when the dude double/half the bpm and pressed again time/bpm button the sample changed (note: i'm not talking about time stretch and i'm talking sample, not pattern mode). this machine is cool but is annoying me so much... :lol:

(attachment contains the pic of the 2 bar loop (81 bpms showing) and the 4 bar loop resampled of this 2 bar loop (that means x2 2bar loop, 121 bpms showing)

2 bar 81 bpm


4 bar 121 bpm (BUT resampled using a 81 bpm metronome lol so strange ;/)





Attachment:
Photo 02-03-16, 15 33 00.jpg
Photo 02-03-16, 15 33 00.jpg [ 1.32 MiB | Viewed 2040 times ]



Attachment:
Photo 02-03-16, 15 33 10.jpg
Photo 02-03-16, 15 33 10.jpg [ 1.65 MiB | Viewed 2040 times ]


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: struggling with the 404sx sample tempo
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:04 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 12:03 pm
Posts: 199
Location: Switzerland
you Need to turn the other knob to "really" Change the bpm. One Knob is for double/half bpm and the one left to it (i think ctrl 1) let's you Change the bpm. But the 404-pitch isn't really good...

reading the Manual won't hurt i think. it's one of the easiest and best Manuals i've ever read.

even in the Manual it says that the bpm isn't too precise

http://roland.com/support/article/?q=manuals&p=SP-404SX&id=14997200 <-- there you go

_________________
SP-202 / SP-303 / SP-404 / SP-404SX / ST-224 / PO-33 / AKAI S950 / E-MU SP-12 Turbo

https://soundcloud.com/scopebeats


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: struggling with the 404sx sample tempo
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:08 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 18
hey thanks!! din't know that. now can you actually answer my question?? why the 2 bar loop (81 bpms) turn into a 121 bpm 4 bar loop? i don't get it. THATs my MAIN question :( :/// thanks in advance


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: struggling with the 404sx sample tempo
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 3:09 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 18
scopebeats wrote:
reading the Manual won't hurt i think.

already read 3 times mate :/// but main question is still UP


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: