It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:54 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 8:00 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Greece
Let's talk about full midi integration!
We can use sp606 to any modern DAW (Ableton,Reaper etch )
First of all i am sorry(again) of my poor English so this guide will be completed from you by asking me questions...!

We need 2 software programs (always freeware):
1: midi yoke http://www.midiox.com/
after installation-reboot.

2:Bome's Midi Translator (BMT)
http://www.bome.com/products/miditranslator
install-run and open my file:

http://www.box.net/shared/4jay85svle

Make sure that on BMT midi-in is SP-606 and midi out is 'midi yoke 1'
also we can check midi trou and pass midi time code...

Now open Ableton or other program like Reason and choose in the midi in the virtual "midi yoke 1"...

The concept is simple...sp-606 transmits raw sysex so only P606 or Cakewalk Kinetic understands.
With BMT we translate those to standard midi CC or emulate a key stroke...
So by reading the manual of these programs we can find the key shortcuts and translate the knobs,buttons of 606 according to our needs.

I have "captured" all the sp606 sysex and named them so it will be easy for you to mess around with BMT...
Please spend some time with BMT, before you ask anything...

Happy birthday to your sp606!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 12:10 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 1449
Location: LAWLESS MONSTER ZONE
Cool :idea:

_________________
ImageNew Visual Album-THE DISTORTED PHANTASMAGORIC GIGANTOMACHY-Available on digital, DVD and vinyl!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 1:42 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:12 pm
Posts: 30
post a video


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 3:11 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Greece
netz wrote:
post a video


in 2-3 months,maybe never!just try it and I'll guide you!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 6:34 am 
Member

Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:12 pm
Posts: 30
Is this only for windows or is it mac compatible as well?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 9:13 am 
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:14 pm
Posts: 222
This stuff could be very useful for the SP-555 too - if the V-Link function sends sysex that is (and I believe it does).

Thanks korakios.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:33 am 
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Greece
In 606 V-link send midi CC instead of sysex...the translator is usefull for any midi device.You can use the "capture" function and translate it to anything that suits your needs on your favorite DAW....

netz wrote:
Is this only for windows or is it mac compatible as well?

http://www.bome.com/products/miditranslator/downloads/beta-osx

and instead of midi yoke i found this:
http://fox-gieg.com/tutorials/2007/inter-application-midi/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:24 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:14 pm
Posts: 222
korakios wrote:
In 606 V-link send midi CC instead of sysex...the translator is usefull for any midi device.You can use the "capture" function and translate it to anything that suits your needs on your favorite DAW...


Yeah, I couldn't find anything useful other than using the D-Beam to control a soft synth - but I haven't tested all that much. It could very well be MIDI CC, would be a lot simpler to mess with too.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:38 am 
Member

Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:12 pm
Posts: 30
thanx i'll give it a try!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:37 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:07 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

Does the midi connections works without the usb cable from the sp606 by using this method ? (Unfortunatly, I got the problem of the driver for windows 7 64 bit)
So, can we still use the sp 606 as a midi controller with a midi in and midi out cable connected to a soundcard, or a pc thru midi usb cable?
Thanks!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7184
Location: France-Italy
mirouf wrote:
Does the midi connections works without the usb cable from the sp606 by using this method ? (Unfortunatly, I got the problem of the driver for windows 7 64 bit)
So, can we still use the sp 606 as a midi controller with a midi in and midi out cable connected to a soundcard, or a pc thru midi usb cable?
Thanks!

hi man
check the post with the drivers Korakios made for us, i got win7 64 bit and everything works with those new drivers

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:33 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:07 am
Posts: 2
Yes I disable integrity checks (can you tell me what program do you use ?, I tried setup driver plus ) and turning into mode test, but I can't install any driver, the one for vista and the one for xp.. I 've got a error message that forced me to stop..
Maybe I miss something,
anyway, thanks from the help!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:07 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7184
Location: France-Italy
mirouf wrote:
Yes I disable integrity checks (can you tell me what program do you use ?, I tried setup driver plus ) and turning into mode test, but I can't install any driver, the one for vista and the one for xp.. I 've got a error message that forced me to stop..
Maybe I miss something,
anyway, thanks from the help!

i didn't use any other program...i just followed Korakios instructions, really...there's no driver for vista or xp, download the drivers he said...if you got other doubts, pm him, maybe it's better...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Greece
mirouf wrote:
Hi,
Does the midi connections works without the usb cable from the sp606 by using this method ? ..........!

Yes, if you are using another midi interface and connect the 606 physical midi output.(my English suck!)

mirouf wrote:
Yes I disable integrity checks (can you tell me what program do you use ?, I tried setup driver plus ) and turning into mode test, but I can't install any driver, the one for vista and the one for xp.. I 've got a error message that forced me to stop..
Maybe I miss something,
anyway, thanks from the help!


If you still haven't managed to get it working ,post in the link below instead.
http://sp-forums.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=14235

Welcome!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP606 MIDI TRANSLATOR
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:03 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:11 pm
Posts: 446
so the 606 does not send midi notes ? whats the point of midi jacks then, so strange. is this the reason for no midi support on pc ? excuse me, i will read my manual more about sending and receiving midi, because eventually i want to figure it out.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: