It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:57 pm

Post subject: Ableton Integration
PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 9:47 pm 

Hi im a newbie here (to this forum - Had my SP606 5+ years and been using Live 2 years, but only this evening tried to integrate the two).
Im having a few issues with regard to my SP606 and Ableton Live 7 integration. Rather bump multiple threads with topics of concern, I decided to start one thread to cover everything.

Using INT mode has no effect over Live at all, In EXT I can get control and map clips to pads etc. but only the pads and the 3 CTRL knobs and the DBeam seem to send midi data. In INT mode the orange/yellow midi data dot does not glow when pressing any buttons on the 606.

In EXT mode Im struggling to effectively setup various different Midi Channels, so I can have different clips triggering on different midi channels...

Im also looking to set up transport control of Ableton. I managed to do so somehow, by accident in INT mode, but only with one of the preset PTNs of the SP606 loaded, and thus then lost pad control of clips.

Id be very grateful to anyone who can help in anyway at all.
I wouldn't be surprised if its something really obvious Im missing.
Ive been going through the manual, and Ableton and this forum for help, + google, but not had any luck so far...

Setup:
Macbook OS X 10.5
Ableton 7
SP 606 (Connected via USB)
NI Audio Kontrol audio interfact (conneted via second USB).

In Live:

Midi In > SP606 > Track ON, Sync OFF (had no luck with any of the above with it set to on) Remote ON.
On the 606:
FUNC > NOTE TRIG
Midi UTL :
Pad Base Ch: 1
Pad TX mode: Type2 (Type 1 doesnt seem to resolve)
Effect CTRL Ch: Omni
Sync Source: USB
Sync Mode: Slave
TX Midi Sync: Off
Soft Thru: Off.

Post subject: Re: Ableton Integration
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 1:20 am 

I don't have a 606, I'm not familiar with Ableton and I don't know much about MIDI but I'll try...