It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:12 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606?
Windows XP  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Windows Vista  17%  17%  [ 1 ]
Windows 7  33%  33%  [ 2 ]
Windows 8  33%  33%  [ 2 ]
Mac OS 10.4 Tiger  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Mac OS 10.5 Leopard  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Mac OS 10.6 Snow Leopard  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Mac OS 10.7 Lion  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Mac OS 10.8 Mountain Lion  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Mac OS 10.9 Mavericks  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Mac OS 10.10 Yosemite  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Linux  17%  17%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 6
Author Message
 Post subject: Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606? POLL
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:24 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:58 am
Posts: 51
Curious to know, which OS you integrate with the SP-606?

Computer hardware details would be helpful, too.

Also, let us know whether or not the P606, midi, and/or audio interface works.


From what I've read, any OS (32 or 64 bit) will allow it to function as a storage/mass media device for drag and drop workflow. 32-bit is needed for audio to pass-thru.

Helpful links:
http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT3773

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/find-out-32-or-64-bit


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606? POLL
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 4:00 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7157
Location: France-Italy
Win7 64bit for me
check the interesting post by korakios about that (no roland uograde to make things working but he solved this)

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606? POLL
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 3:55 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 320
ellaguru,did u have any problems while making the drivers trick on your operating system?i also use win 7 64bit.
i was thinking about trying it,i would be glad to know if u faced anything weird.cause,as korakios said,its a risk.take it or leave it :p

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rakun0
https://rakun0.bandcamp.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606? POLL
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 5:00 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Austin TX
Use mine in Linux.

Ubuntu-Studio 64 14.04 with the KXStudio repos installed on a Dell Inspiron 3000 4th-gen Intel Pentium Dual-core Slim Desktop with 8 gigs of ram

It works as a card reader, interface and midi-controller/interface and while running in mix mode all internal sounds run through the computer.
I sketch out quick ideas with it while using it in tandem with me SP-505.

I then use it as a controller for Fxpanstion Geist running in W.I.N.E. mapping out all the functions with "bomes midi translator" also running in W.I.N.E..

i gotta tell you: best $200 purchase i ever made.

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606? POLL
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:48 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7157
Location: France-Italy
rak wrote:
ellaguru,did u have any problems while making the drivers trick on your operating system?i also use win 7 64bit.
i was thinking about trying it,i would be glad to know if u faced anything weird.cause,as korakios said,its a risk.take it or leave it :p

Until now I use this trick since two years I think and still no troubles at all

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606? POLL
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:06 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Greece
Windows 8.1 here, I only miss the retro P606 software :mrgreen:


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606? POLL
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 9:31 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:42 am
Posts: 946
Location: Record shops
On vista, plug'n'play worked the first time so I'm hesitant about putting in any effort on higher end systems. Haven't tried P606 on my lappy, really should give it a 2nd go... Where's that CD gone?

_________________
SP-606 & 404SX - Soundcloud - Bandcamp


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Which OS (Windows, Mac, Linux)/Version with SP-606? POLL
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:45 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Greece
Unfolding wrote:
On vista, plug'n'play worked the first time so I'm hesitant about putting in any effort on higher end systems. Haven't tried P606 on my lappy, really should give it a 2nd go... Where's that CD gone?


P606 worked only on XP,but you free to try since I'm mot 100% sure...On
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=16759
I posted everything I found for 606...


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: