It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:07 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:11 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:01 pm
Posts: 65
Hello Sampling Friends
i recently got my SP606 and i'm really happy with it. Had fun playing around with it. but now i've wanted to import my own files, but unfortunatly the SP606 does not accept 95% of my .wav or .aif files... What can i do to make the SP606 accept my .wav's and .aif's? Or which converter do you use?
Greetings
:)


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:35 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: PDX, OR
Just found this on google. Should help you out. I use audacity for my files, but it only works for converting one at a time.

1. Insert an SP-606-formatted Compact Flash card.

2. Press [MENU], select “5:USB Mass Storage”, and press [ENTER] twice. The screen will read “USB Connected”.

6. Go to your computer. If any windows pop up, close them. On Macs, “FUGUEFAT” will show up as a drive on your desktop. On PCs, it will appear in your “My Computer” folder.

7. Drag your .WAV or AIFF files (8 or 16-bit, 44.1kHz ONLY) directly into the FUGUEFAT folder.

8. Eject the SP-606 drive from your computer. On Macs, drag the drive to the trash. On PCs, click the “Safely Remove Hardware” icon in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen.

9. On the SP-606, press [F3] EXIT twice.

10. While holding [FUNC], press Pad 10 (CARD UTIL).

11. Select “File Import” and press [ENTER]. You will see a list of the audio files on the card.

12. Press a pad to select the import destination. If you want to change pad banks, press [PAD BANK], select the bank, and press [F3] SELECT. Pad banks 1-8 play from internal memory. Pad Banks 9-32 play from the card.

12. Select a file you wish to import and press [F1] MARK. Repeat for any other files you wish to import.

13. Press [F3] EXEC.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:41 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:01 pm
Posts: 65
Thank you for the fast answer, but this is the way i used to do, but unfortunatly the SP606 gives me a message "format not supported" if i want to import my .wav's to the pads... I'm using a macbook pro to import the files via USB connection, they are imported properly, but the SP606 says the format would not be supported, even if they are in .wav or .aif


Last edited by User_that_left on Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: PDX, OR
8 or 16 bit files only. Maybe you don't have enough space left on your memory card since the files need to be converted to Roland format.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:48 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:01 pm
Posts: 65
can i only play 8-bit files with my 606?
Well, there is enough space left, i'm using 512mb CF, and the files i moved on it were only about 4mb each, so more than 400mb free space left... i don't really understand this machine's problem... lol


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:26 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:01 pm
Posts: 65
Problem slved! Indeed, they all were 24bits :)
Thank you for your help


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 11:23 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:39 pm
Posts: 57
While many wav & aif files have been imported fine here, I have one stubborn 16-bit wav-file that refuses & refuses & refuses to import.

But it's OK! Not even that long, I have other much longer files that went fine. 44k1, 16bit, stereo, all good...

I should still try to copy the contents to another clean wav-file, but am still puzzled.

FWIW, anyone recognizing this ?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:25 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 12:16 am
Posts: 162
What ever happened to plugging in some 1/4 inch cables pressing record and selecting the pad you would like to record your sound on?

All these other methods of importing and hacking some file name sounds like a deterrent

Cables and a record button works every time

Good luck tho

_________________
http://P00K.bandcamp.com/
soundcloud.com/P00K


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:31 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:39 pm
Posts: 57
P00K wrote:
Cables and a record button works every time


You're right, that always will work. :D

I came here from machines like the Roland MS-1 etc... nothing else than indeed recording in real time there... so had my fair share of that. :-) That triggered the desire for file-transfer. Too bad the SP-606 doesn't keep sample-names intact. I'd even like it when there was nothing but real time audio transfer AND the possibility to name samples on the SP-606 ... :roll:

Bye


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:57 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7155
Location: France-Italy
MotorBongo wrote:
Too bad the SP-606 doesn't keep sample-names intact.

when you transfer samples from pc to 606, names rest the same...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:07 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:39 pm
Posts: 57
ellaguru wrote:
MotorBongo wrote:
Too bad the SP-606 doesn't keep sample-names intact.

when you transfer samples from pc to 606, names rest the same...


Yep, that's true when importing files from a CF-card, the names are indeed recognizable (if they're not too long) when selecting a file for import.

But once imported & changed to the own Roland-format, they get other names (some 'code').
This holds both for (1) the name of the file on the CF-card (when you inspect the CF-card on a PC again) as (2) for not seeing the original name any longer when for instance adjusting sample-parameters.

Maintaining the name would have been very convenient, and the display could have easily shown it to us...

Best regards


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7155
Location: France-Italy
MotorBongo wrote:

But once imported & changed to the own Roland-format, they get other names (some 'code').....
.....

Maintaining the name would have been very convenient, and the display could have easily shown it to us...

damn, you're right.
i never done the contrary (606 to pc)...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:12 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 320
hello.i also just got an 606.i am trying to connect the sp with my PC through USB but it keeps showing error "insert disk in Removable Disk :/F". I tried that on another PC and it worked fine with no drivers installed.both computers have win 7 64bit.anyone knows how to make it work?(also the sp freezed twice while usb connection was on the screen.i guess that was because of the non-driver issue??)please any help is welcome :)

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rakun0
https://rakun0.bandcamp.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: .wav / .aif
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:45 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7155
Location: France-Italy
rak wrote:
hello.i also just got an 606.i am trying to connect the sp with my PC through USB but it keeps showing error "insert disk in Removable Disk :/F". I tried that on another PC and it worked fine with no drivers installed.both computers have win 7 64bit.anyone knows how to make it work?(also the sp freezed twice while usb connection was on the screen.i guess that was because of the non-driver issue??)please any help is welcome :)

maybe check that
http://sp-forums.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=14235
who knows...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: