It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:16 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 8:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:39 am
Posts: 93
Ive spent the better half of the day looking through tons of threads trying to see if anyone has ever midi'd an SP 505 to another SP sampler with no luck. maybe i missed a thread or post but thought id ask.
Essentially i want to sequence my sp 202 or 404 with my 505. I was wondering if anyone had done this before.

I looked at the midi note chart of both manuals and while the 202 seems simple enough the 505's is ridiculous.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/imonlysleeping


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:39 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7155
Location: France-Italy
ImOnlySleeping wrote:
I looked at the midi note chart of both manuals and while the 202 seems simple enough the 505's is ridiculous.


yes.
that's reality: midi on the 505 is hard. And it's very complicated. maybe you can use only a certain number of banks, if i remember well..

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:28 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:09 am
Posts: 131
ive never seen or heard of anyone making good use of midi
on the 505. Then again, you rarely see or hear of anyone
using her in the first place.

_________________
SP-606, SP-505, Kaossilator KO2, QY70


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:33 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: PDX, OR
My 505 is still my go to machine. I don't mess with midi as I really enjoy using it standalone or in tandem with my ipad. I'm glad the 505 gets no love, all the more for us dedicated users :D


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7155
Location: France-Italy
To be clear: midi sync is fast and easy on the 505, the trouble is with midi notes

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: PDX, OR
Ironically I was going to make a template for my ipad app (beatmaker 2) to control my 505 via midi, but once I got started I realized it was a waste of time. Likewise I've not had much luck controlling my sp404 with hardware. I can only seem to reach 2 banks of sounds on the 404.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 3:07 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:42 pm
Posts: 496
Location: Des Moines, WA
Just so happens I'm picking up a 505 soon, so I'd also be curious to know if it's worth the trouble to sync up a 202/303/404 to the 505. I'm sure one can do the beats, the other basslines, horn stabs, or other random stuff. If the 505 keeps it all in time, wonderful. But if they kind of get in the way of eachother, that'd be a crying shame.

_________________
Livin my life in da underground


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:07 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:09 am
Posts: 131
i would say they can be used together, but not like youre suggesting.

ie record one to the other; sample a pitch/chop bank performance from the 505 to another SP; etc

unfortunately the 505/606 sequencer is not going to drive anything else.

_________________
SP-606, SP-505, Kaossilator KO2, QY70


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Midi Sp 505 to another SP
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 12:13 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 177
Location: Austin TX
i know this thread is old but just wanted to add that i sync my 505 slaved to my 606. and it keeps pace with no issue.

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron