It is currently Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:56 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help:505 MIDI and Ableton - I can only Trigger Preset Bank 1
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 5:17 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:04 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Whittier Blvd, CA
So today I bought a usb midi interface for my pc. I figured out how to set up an external instrument in ableton to send midi info to my 505. The problem is that I can only trigger the 1st pank bank on the SP-505 (Preset Bank 1) from the Midi Piano Roll in ableton. The notes on the piano roll in ableton that trigger samples on the SP are C1-D#2. 16 keys for 16 pads... it makes sense to me so far. However, All the other keys do not trigger anything.

How do I control the other banks of the SP Via MIDI sent from ableton?
What is Program Chg SW? What does it do?

Notes:
This is my first time trying to control external hardware through Ableton.
I've tried all 4 Sync Mode options in the SP (INT,MIDI,REMOTE, AUTO)
I think this problem can be solved by having an understanding of the program change sw setting.

Verbatim excerpt from manual:

"Program Chg SW: OFF, ON Specify whether program change messages will be received and transmitted. On the SP-505, program changes are employed when switching the bank that is to be played by MIDI (note messages)"


Last edited by Devee on Thu Dec 01, 2016 5:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Help:505 MIDI and Ableton - I can only Trigger Preset Ba
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:31 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 140
Location: Austin TX
here you go.


http://sp-forums.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=23875

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Help:505 MIDI and Ableton - I can only Trigger Preset Ba
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 5:15 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:04 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Whittier Blvd, CA
Thanks mr.thraz you steered me in the right direction with your link.

I found this video which walks you through how to send the midi info to switch banks via ableton.

Solution Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHUVAKDbPhA&t=132s


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: