It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 2:38 pm

Post subject: Broken Speakers or Shitty EQing?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:29 pm 

So i was working on a track all night last night, straight headphones. The sample had a little too much high end frequencies, so i put it into FL and started EQing it. I took off alot of the highs, boosted the mids a little, and kept the lows at a nice level to where its not so bassy, but so where it doesnt sound like a high pass filter.

Sounded great on my headphones, but once i started playing it on my speakers, every time the sample hits, it sounds sorta staticy. not sure if thats the right word to use, but its basically just too much for my speakers to handle.

My speakers aren't the best, and theyre not in great condition either, so im not sure if the track just needs some better EQing, or if its time to invest in some new speakers.... any input would be dope!!

Post subject: Re: Broken Speakers or Shitty EQing?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:13 am 

A set of decent studio monitors is a sound investment.
I found my Yamaha NS10s at Salvation Army for $30. Not saying you too will find a score like that, but you can get used speakers at a relatively easy price point.

I always thought it better to mix on speakers rather than headphones.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:30 am 

MattCoops wrote:
I always thought it better to mix on speakers rather than headphones.

yeah i feel it. its just i work on most of my beats at night after work and i share my room with my little brother AND sister (it fucking sucks). so i find myself mixing .... well doing everything by headphone ha.

pretty shitty conditions to work with, but i try my best to get a good outcome of it ha!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 4:25 pm 

Couple just spontaneous things spring to mind, may be of some help..