It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:55 pm

Post subject: Music School
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:08 pm 

have any of you ever gone to music school? i'm over the college grind taking up so much of my time that i can't really even work on music anymore.

the music schools that offer production classes are all software based it seems with minimal hardware :? my heart lies in the sp's but learning ableton would be cool

the other class option would be engineering. i have no experience with engineering, but honestly this seems like the way to go to make money. i know it's really not about the money, but i mean, i need food...

Post subject: Re: Music School
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:20 pm 

Just buy or dowload ableton live and use it. You don't really need to pay someone to teach you those things. There are a bunch of free online tutorials, videos, and books on mixing and mastering.

If I were you, I'd finish college and cut back on sleep to work on music. :mrgreen:

Or just get into the music thing 500%

Last edited by 444 on Tue Oct 27, 2015 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 9:15 pm 

yeah i have ableton and use it a little bit. i know i don't need to pay someone to teach me how to use it. there's more opportunities surrounding myself by like-minded people though you know? music production seems really hard to get a career out of, but that's the ideal goal

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:10 pm 

From what I've heard and gathered, they don't teach Ableton Live in most schools anyways. Protools is the main tool of the trade.

Well if you know what you want you just gotta do it!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:18 am 
Winner of Silver Medal
Winner of Silver Medal