It is currently Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:43 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Complicated setup with MPC 2500 and two SP404/SP303
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 1:08 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 14
Hey guys, moving from ableton proved to be quite pricey and complicated.
Im about to buy a mixer, but I think I need some extra features for my setup.

The gear I got:
Turntable (with preamp)
MPC2500
SP404sx
SP303
OP-1
A pedalboard
Audient iD14 audio interface (This controls my monitors, i plug my MPC to this.)

I want to make my MPC the center of this setup.
How would you go about connecting these?

My main goal is sampling / recording from the turntable or OP-1, to either the MPC / SP404sx / SP303 and bounce between them, creating an in/out loop (using dat phat 303 comp on samples and bouncing back to MPC)

Maybe send some samples to my pedalboard (less important though...).

What sort of mixer should I get? One that wouldn't degrade the sound...
How would I go about routing this?

Sorry for the long post. I did use the search function but havent found much help for my specific setup

Thank you!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Complicated setup with MPC 2500 and two SP404/SP303
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:57 pm 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:26 am
Posts: 2714
Location: La Puente
You should get a patchbay! Only about 100 bucks and you can instantly connect whatever to whatever, and no sound degradation. That's how I deal with interconnecting all my devices (2500/404/microsampler...) you can route anything instantly, even your monitors, even your pedals, very flexible, i think itd be a good investment.. For example you could route your turntable to a guitar pedal to your 404 to your MPC just by doing a quick patch and never having to disconnect anything..

For using the 303 or 404sx with the 2500, i'd plug the ins from the SP to the outs 3&4 on the 2500. That way you can bounce samples between the two by assigning the outs on the mpc...

if you go the mixer route, I think yamaha mixers are very good quality, cheap too

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/k-e-l


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Complicated setup with MPC 2500 and two SP404/SP303
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 6:36 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 14
A patch bay huh! this is really intriguing.
Do you recommend any?

EDIT:

Just saw the Samson patchbays are the most revered because of their normal-half normal - thru switches on the fronts, making it more convenient.

I get how it works, but if I want to connect my stuff, I also need patch cables, right?

Let's say I hook my sp303 to in/out with the mpc2500.

sp303 > patchbay in
mpc2500 > patchbay in

and then I route the the sp303 and the mpc2500 in the front panel using patch cables?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Complicated setup with MPC 2500 and two SP404/SP303
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:22 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 14
Let me know if this will work:

SP303 -> IN and OUT > Patchbay
SP404 -> IN and OUT > Patchbay
Turntable -> OUT > Patchbay
MPC -> STEREO OUT > Audient iD14 > Monitors
MPC -> 8 OUTS > Patchbay
MPC -> REC IN > Patchbay

and then I'll just patch stuff up in the patchbay

am I doing this right?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Complicated setup with MPC 2500 and two SP404/SP303
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 5:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:45 pm
Posts: 576
Location: Washington
You plug everything into the patchbay on the back. So plug all the outs & ins to the back & this would be your main signal chain.
For example:

MPC2500 (out)-> sp303 (in)
Op1 (out)-> sp404 (in)

Then on the front is where you patch. So you have the MPC 2500 outs going to the sp303 ins. But now you want to plug the MPC2500 outs to the sp404 ins. You would just patch it in the front.

Some allow you to split the signal as well, so for example, you can have the out's of the MPC 2500 going into the sp303 & sp404 at the same time.

Hopefully that makes sense. It's actually really simple once you understand it, but it took me a minute to figure patchbays out.

Personally I have a mixer, Yamaha MG12XU. I've had it a few years & really, really like it. I use it almost daily & never had an issue with it. I'm thinking about getting a patchbay, but will always have a few mixers.

A patchbay is def the cheaper option. You can always add a mixer later on if you decide to & you could still use the patchbay.

_________________
RECENT BATTLE BEATS
https://soundcloud.com/user-255622253
OLD BATTLE BEATS & a few extra tracks
https://sharris.bandcamp.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Complicated setup with MPC 2500 and two SP404/SP303
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:09 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 14
Sharris wrote:
You plug everything into the patchbay on the back. So plug all the outs & ins to the back & this would be your main signal chain.
For example:

MPC2500 (out)-> sp303 (in)
Op1 (out)-> sp404 (in)

Then on the front is where you patch. So you have the MPC 2500 outs going to the sp303 ins. But now you want to plug the MPC2500 outs to the sp404 ins. You would just patch it in the front.

Some allow you to split the signal as well, so for example, you can have the out's of the MPC 2500 going into the sp303 & sp404 at the same time.

Hopefully that makes sense. It's actually really simple once you understand it, but it took me a minute to figure patchbays out.

Personally I have a mixer, Yamaha MG12XU. I've had it a few years & really, really like it. I use it almost daily & never had an issue with it. I'm thinking about getting a patchbay, but will always have a few mixers.

A patchbay is def the cheaper option. You can always add a mixer later on if you decide to & you could still use the patchbay.


Man, that was clear as sunrise in a sunny day.
Thank you.

I ordered a PX3000, will be here next week :)
Sending a split signal to both the 303 and 404 should be REALLY intresting.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Complicated setup with MPC 2500 and two SP404/SP303
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:27 am 
Member

Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:09 am
Posts: 29
Wow I never heard about patchbays, that's going to be a huge improvement


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: