It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:38 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Recording directly into ABLETON
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:36 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Posts: 195
Location: SouF California
I'm using the Scarlett 2i interface and using RCA to 1/4" wires and the input signal is really weak. If someone can give me some pointers on how they record into ableton using the SP's or link me to a thread that as already covered this topic. When I turn up the input on the interface the track starts clipping and the kick becomes distorted. Im using KRK 6's, Series 1 and all sound levels sound fine before recording into ableton.

_________________
SP-404sx SP-303
|https://soundcloud.com/johnsondontsurf|


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Recording directly into ABLETON
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:41 am 
New member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:40 pm
Posts: 9
Hmm. So you're either too low or too loud? I would say you should try (if you already didn't) checking with another audio interface to see if that's your problem. I'm assuming that the volume on you sp I turned max.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Recording directly into ABLETON
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:59 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:28 am
Posts: 107
I think it might be a problem with the interface cuz I have the same exact setup and the same issue. I noticed the first time I tried to record into ableton straight from my record player and the sound was horribly distorted. Maybe the Scarlett's input are optimized for guitars and stuff so they have too much drive or something? Idk, I think aaronjeffersons right tho, you should check with another interface


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Recording directly into ABLETON
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:09 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Posts: 195
Location: SouF California
aaronjeffersson wrote:
Hmm. So you're either too low or too loud? I would say you should try (if you already didn't) checking with another audio interface to see if that's your problem. I'm assuming that the volume on you sp I turned max.



yes thats correct SP volume is turned to max and if i turn up the input on the on the interface the track will start clipping and gets distorted.

I hope its just the audio settings on ABLETON. I fiddled around with it a little bit but no luck with getting the track louder.

Could it be that I sampled using the 202 recorded it onto the 303 thru ext source and then recorded the 303 resample onto the 404sx thru ext source


thanks for the feedback

_________________
SP-404sx SP-303
|https://soundcloud.com/johnsondontsurf|


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Recording directly into ABLETON
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:16 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Posts: 195
Location: SouF California
seezesea wrote:
I think it might be a problem with the interface cuz I have the same exact setup and the same issue. I noticed the first time I tried to record into ableton straight from my record player and the sound was horribly distorted. Maybe the Scarlett's input are optimized for guitars and stuff so they have too much drive or something? Idk, I think aaronjeffersons right tho, you should check with another interface



THANKS FOR THE FEEDBACK.

You are probably right, now that you mention it, i used the same interface for recording guitar bass and drums(not for beats) and the sound was perfect. I did not record directly into it like i do with the SP I used a condenser mic recording the amps and drums. And that worked fine.

Also Guess its worth mentioning that When my sp is plugged into the monitors I use RCA to 2 1/4" cables. Maybe that has something to do with it? oppose to using RCA to AUX


for the time being I will re download the DEMO version of Fruity Loops and just continue to record using RCA TO AUX thru the mic jack.

+

_________________
SP-404sx SP-303
|https://soundcloud.com/johnsondontsurf|


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Recording directly into ABLETON
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:24 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:37 pm
Posts: 291
Location: uk
Wonder if its because the sp is maxed on vol, since aive had mine Ive mever gone past half way vol on the sp, rather than adjusting the sp level can you adjust the input level on your interface?

_________________
SP 404
http://deathco.bandcamp.com/

http://deathandco.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Recording directly into ABLETON
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 9:55 am 
New member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:13 am
Posts: 8
Location: DubRecen
Dumb idea, but have you checked that, the input is set to line in?
Also I would turn up the SP just as much as it needed.
When I record back my 555 through a motu ultralite I usually crank the volume only around half and it's perfect, without distortion.

_________________
...::: FaceBook ::: YouTube ::: MixCloud ::: SoundCloud ::: Instagram :::...


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: