It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:00 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:46 am 
Member

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:28 am
Posts: 116
So I was just listening to the beats for battle 229 and it made me wonder why are some people's waveforms on soundcloud so even and sorta squared off and others (mine included) really wavey with lots of peaks and valleys. 2 that stuck out at me in that battle were pillow's and asha c's, just looking at the waveforms you would think those beats don't have any dynamic contrast at all but they do. Do folks just compress and/or limit the hell out of their beats or what?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:56 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:57 am
Posts: 260
FIRST: COMPRESSION(S) ON SP

THEN

IZOTOPE VST (COMP/EQ/DYNAMICS/MAXIMIZER/STEREO ENHANCER...)
+ LIMITER FX (+ PUSH A FEW NOT TOO MUCH BC YOU LOOSE DYNAMICS WHEN YOU PUSH TOO MUCH)

ON THE MASTER

I HEARD EXTERNAL COMPRESSOR/LIMITER DO MIRACLES :roll: BUT I DON'T HAVE ONE

_________________
s o u n d c l o u d
b a n d c a m p


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:30 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:37 pm
Posts: 292
Location: uk
I just used the vinyl sim all the way up, its the compressor thats caused it to lose the dynamic range

_________________
SP 404
http://deathco.bandcamp.com/

http://deathandco.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:42 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:23 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Czech Republic
Seem some guys (me included) use some Maximizer (Limiter?) in DAW (or some external units) at the end of mixdown/mastering process.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:04 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:28 am
Posts: 116
Interesting, I've heard good things about that izotope so I'll have to look into it when I get a suitable computer. I've got some experimenting to do for sure, I'll have to give external stuff a shot cuz I can't seem to find the right ratios with the 404sx's compressor, at least not over fully completed tracks


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:39 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Posts: 199
Location: SouF California
This is probably a stupid question, but when everyone says they are using compression is that when the whole track is complete or do you compress all the samples one by one i.e. kick-resample compressor, snare-resample compressor. Or do you record the drums then resample the drum loop and use compressor.

Also i see some people when recording into daws they record everything one by one and line up the tracks. i.e. the drum loop is on track 1 the sample is one track 2 and the accappella is on track 3. All my stuff as been recorded live into one track. Is that a BIG NO NO?

_________________
SP-404sx SP-303
|https://soundcloud.com/johnsondontsurf|


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:10 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:37 pm
Posts: 292
Location: uk
RockySullivan wrote:
This is probably a stupid question, but when everyone says they are using compression is that when the whole track is complete or do you compress all the samples one by one i.e. kick-resample compressor, snare-resample compressor. Or do you record the drums then resample the drum loop and use compressor.


I think it varies for me, sometimes I compress each thing and then the whole track too, sometimes just the whole track, pretty much just messing until I like it.

RockySullivan wrote:
Also i see some people when recording into daws they record everything one by one and line up the tracks. i.e. the drum loop is on track 1 the sample is one track 2 and the accappella is on track 3. All my stuff as been recorded live into one track. Is that a BIG NO NO?


I just record it like live, I guess how you did yours, as one track!! that's because I'm too impatient but I think the mix suffers because of it, I don't really mind that though I just like the immediacy of getting an idea and recording it rather than messing around with stuff for ages, guess it depends on how much control you want over mixing the final track!

_________________
SP 404
http://deathco.bandcamp.com/

http://deathandco.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:25 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Posts: 199
Location: SouF California
asha c,

Do you use a interface when recording into daws? I thinking of going back to just recording into fruity loops just recording in the mic jack via a rca to aux cable.

_________________
SP-404sx SP-303
|https://soundcloud.com/johnsondontsurf|


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:46 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:37 pm
Posts: 292
Location: uk
I use a roland ua 25ex into reaper but i used to just go straight in the mic input until i bought studio speakers, dont see why you cant just go straight into FL

_________________
SP 404
http://deathco.bandcamp.com/

http://deathandco.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Waveforms?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 2:23 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:23 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Czech Republic
OK.
I think it should be like this:
When recording to DAW eg. a whole rock band

record separate tracks for each sound:
Kick
Snare top
Snare bottom
hi tom
low tom
floor tom
hi-hat
left overhead
right overhead
bass guitar
first guitar
second guitar
keyboards (in stereo)
voice
etc.

use compression on each track/instrument if you like (specially for drums), equalizer, reverb etc.
set volume of each track to make no clipping output
set volume of master (all tracks together) to make no clipping

(so, with sampler, you can/should do almost whole work with samples on your sampler till this point)

then:

mixdown tracks (or record whole track from sampler to PC) with some mastering effects and reverb

then use volume maximizer for your result


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: