It is currently Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:53 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Using the isolator & resample question
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:47 am 
New member

Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:57 pm
Posts: 2
Hey SP buds, got a quick question for you. When I use the isolator function to isolate a bass sample, it sounds good with the effect on but when I go to resample it, the sample distorts. Any reason for this? I end up with me turning the bass down on the isolator, but getting rid of the isolated bass sample. Basically, I have a bass sample that sounds good until I resample it. I've worked around it, but just wondering if anyone has any knowhow on the subject.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/qualitycontra


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Using the isolator & resample question
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:53 am 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:26 am
Posts: 2714
Location: La Puente
Try turning effect limiter on, should get rid of your clipping. If you're recording the bass in hot, it'll only be hotter when you turn any frequency range up... What sp are you using?

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/k-e-l


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Using the isolator & resample question
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 2:35 am 
New member

Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 9:57 pm
Posts: 2
kel wrote:
Try turning effect limiter on, should get rid of your clipping. If you're recording the bass in hot, it'll only be hotter when you turn any frequency range up... What sp are you using?


Efrect limiter?! That sounds crazy enough (or just good enough) to work! I'll try it out and get back to you. Thanks so much! Oh, and I'm using a 404sx. Thanks, again! :D

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/qualitycontra


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Using the isolator & resample question
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 4:36 pm 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:26 am
Posts: 2714
Location: La Puente
No prob :)

If you find the limiter to be too "limiting" with the volume of the sound you can use [START/END] + CRTL knob 3 to adjust the velocity of a single sample.. if your EQing makes it sound distorted, just turn down the velocity of the sample before you resample, and watch the peak light to make sure it's not constantly lit.

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/k-e-l


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Using the isolator & resample question
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:05 pm
Posts: 1544
Location: LAWLESS MONSTER ZONE
Its probably distorted because you have the Isolator fx still on. After resampling, turn off the fx then it will not distort. By leaving the fx on, you double the fx over the sample, causing...distortion.

_________________
ImageAVAILABLE NOW!!-FANG OF THE SUN EP


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: