It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 10:13 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 11:13 am 
New member

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 11:06 am
Posts: 6
So I've been playing around with the resample method and after much practice I think I've got it sort of down. I create about three or four drum patterns, resample those into a single pad in order, then I resample the drums with the the sample. Is this the most widely used resample method and I'm wondering if any body has some tips that they use to resample?

Here's a track as an example: https://soundcloud.com/indoorsman/wednesday


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:48 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:51 pm
Posts: 28
Location: California
Solid method, I do the same on my 303 and 404. On my 555, I usually use the looper instead. Just easier to build up the loops and then export them to a pad.

_________________
SP-303 + SP-404SX + SP-555
I got the answers.

Twitter: @vtmn_t
soundcloud.com/vitamint805


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:48 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 3:00 pm
Posts: 497
Location: Ålesund
I keep the resampling shorter and like to have three or four loops with resampled drums and some loops with resampled samples. That way I can try out several combinations of all that and when I record I can throw an effect onto the samples without affecting the drums or turn of the samples for a bar and such.

Major downside with that approach to me is that most of the time the samples and drums loops aren't exactly equally long so they run out of sync when I let them run for too long. But the limitation~creativity principle also applies here - I simply switch things up more often 8)

_________________
my blog
my sound
my art for sale


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:58 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:11 pm
Posts: 446
onlly thing still blocking my creativity, is not being able to capture everything on the fly, without using a computer, after many years of practice and dedication through excuciating training and combat trauma, the way i describe is the A> B > C trick, if you want to sample keyboards into the 404, use keyboard > 202 > 404 or use a subtractive formula, record a bunch of stuff to a 4 track, then sample it into the sp505 4 track, it is not perfect workflow, and using a computer makes it way faster, im talking about putting stems on the sequencer, can resample those loops too tho.

i use 2 bar and make tons of patterns, mostly drum techno and house loops, and switch it to hiphop jungle dubstep breaks, i think i gotta finish my techno song and move onto something else, i never made it much before im eqpermienting with low kicks, so thats just a trick to get live stuff into the sequencer. only thing about the 404 is, its best for backing, so once you have your whole backing done, if you snap it with midi into your DAW, then you can sync new audio tracks with midi , or just plain audio over dubs,


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 12:07 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 11:18 am
Posts: 33
Location: UK
Longtom852 wrote:
I create about three or four drum patterns


Do you do that with resampling or using the pattern editor?

_________________
Check out my SP channel - http://youtube.com/c/spvidz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 7:57 pm 
New member

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 7:43 pm
Posts: 2
This might not be the resample method most use.... I use 404sx. I use the pattern sequencer... Whatever my bpm is I put it on 99 bars.... (gives me as much space as I need). Take quantize and click track off I don't like hearing the click track.... I press record and just visually wait for it to start recording. (Have to wait for one bar pre roll). My pattern never start exactly on the 1 I just tap out the pads..... This gives me full 12 voice polyphony and I can change the sounds or mix them.... When I'm satisfied with the pattern... I just record it to my 505 then back to 404sx pad..... Or I use my iPhone with a line 6 sonic port and back to 404sx.... I wish there was a way to disable the preroll of sequencer then you could just hit record at the same time as first pad in sequence....


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:32 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:11 pm
Posts: 446
maybe try quantize the first beat, at 4 (QUARTER NOTE)then it will always start, i have different work flow now , that requires a bit more patience than , resampling a few pads together, like midi,syncing stems and loops the old fashion way, but usually always snap everything to the sequencer , so the song has a structure, where bars start , i like mixing with the sequencer because it's not destructive can do FX on certain pads , and can mix with the master compressor on to get that popular ducking sound.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:46 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:11 pm
Posts: 446
excuse the thread jacking with non resampling snobriety, i thot of a way, since you hate the metronome on, maybe make your own count in, after the factory count in, so you will , wait 4 beats, hear your own count in , then it will help get you in the groove, you can even do 2 or 4 bars warmup count in and rehearsal scratch pad, quantize a kick or something to 8's , just an idea, when you bounce the sequence mix out, you can punch it in manually on beat, after count in(s)


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resample method: tips and tricks?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:02 pm 
New member

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 7:43 pm
Posts: 2
I don't know why I just figured this out. On 404sx when you resample to an empty bank is seems the polyphony increases to all twelve pads. So let's say I have 12 stereo pads on bank A.... Bank B. For instance would be completely empty. So I hit resample then record, I go back to bank A which all the pads will be blinking. I just hit the pads however I want I don't pay attention to the 4 voice limitation. It records with no dropouts or anything. I don't know if this has been posted before if it has sorry.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: