It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:23 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Pitching
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:18 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:49 am
Posts: 112
has anybody ever found a good way to pitch stuff when theyre not using a computer/have a sampler that can do it?

(before anybody mentions i had a 202 and i had to sell it... it didnt pitch enough for me anyway)

im more than happy with the fact that my 404 and soon to arrive 555 dont pitch but im moving to an all hardware setup for a bit and want to have the option in one way or another if i can make it happen.

i have a very limited budget! any DIY ways of rigging a tape machine? im sure theres a way there. any other discoveries/techniques please let me know! cheers


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 9:09 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Sacramento, CA
Do you have an android phone or IOS?

I know they have a couple apps that can do that.

Here is an a article

_________________
Caine


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:47 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:27 am
Posts: 865
Location: Manchester, NH
Use the pitch control on a 4 track.

_________________
Blogging ill sounds at Dope Lofi
support my music habit, buying tapes @ mattcoops.bandcamp.com
Experiment, and Have Fun!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:11 am 
303 Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 4586
Location: Narnia
I hear the 202 is good for that. You could also buy this numark contoller and pitch your stuff turntable stylee in the software the provide or just download traktor to use for the software.
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Numark/DJ2Go-USB-DJ-Controller.gc

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/savedbythesmell
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:49 am
Posts: 112
thanks for the suggestions!

i probably shouldve explained a bit more that cause everythings hardware and ill have a mixer at the heart of the setup i want something i can record to, pitch, then record back out. i worked out that a casio sk-1 might actually be the perfect thing. anybody used one? its 8 bit and only has 1.2 seconds record time so i dunno how useful it will be. i reckon you could play records at a higher speed and pitch them down to get the most out of the sample time which will either sound amazing or unusable with the 8 bit sampling engine! i think it might be better as it will shape my sound. any thoughts?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:28 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:55 am
Posts: 102
Get a Roland MS-1.

_________________
SP505 SP404SX SAMPLETRAK MS-1
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZnuPa8b0sjO0p0-__ldJg
https://soundcloud.com/commercialwasteland


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 9:55 am
Posts: 36
Location: Rotterdam, NL
commercial wrote:
Get a Roland MS-1.

Is the pitch even better than the 202?

_________________
SP-202
SP-303
SP-404 og
MicroKorg XL


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 11:12 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:55 am
Posts: 102
I've never used a 202, but from what I've read the range it can pitch is pretty limited. MS-1 is great for pitching, although the pitch is global, but if you're just pitching it and then resampling it on to something else thats not really a problem.

Added bonuses, it's really easy to chop on, plus it's got mute groups.

_________________
SP505 SP404SX SAMPLETRAK MS-1
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZnuPa8b0sjO0p0-__ldJg
https://soundcloud.com/commercialwasteland


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 7:43 pm 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:26 am
Posts: 2714
Location: La Puente
Korg Microsampler, you can pitch til your heart's content... not to mention play one shots across the keys

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/k-e-l


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:47 am
Posts: 748
Location: Gothenburg SE
Vari pitch wheel on the 808 is all I ever need for pitching (I don't know anything about the MS 1 but as it's described as 'global' I imagine that means the same as the 808 vari-pitch - it functions like playback speed and has a really wide range... with the disc formatted to 32kbs a sample taken at 100% can be sped up to 137.9% and slowed down to 25%..)

So if I sample something and want to get a new sample in tune I'll pitch-wheel up or down the playback speed of what I've already sampled until it sounds in tune with what I want to sample next, previewing it as it comes in thru line-in. Once the new sample is taken I can play the two back at any speed but they'll both always be in tune. This is the only surefire way of pitching i use, other than mbe the transpose function in Ableton which is essentially the same thing in that as you raise pitch playback speed increases also (not really a problem if you're a chop-player, prolly more problematic if you are a looper since you start getting into timestretch territory to compensate).

The 808 also has a fairly good pitch FX patch but that's global too so harder to match disparate samples (not impossible if you check back and forth flicking the effect on and off, but I'd lack the patience for that i think). The pitch function in the sample-edit part can do a pretty decent job of repitching samples too, but again too difficult to use for matching samples, use more for processing.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/l_i_f
https://l-i-f.bandcamp.com/
_________________

SP-808 | SP-202 | SP-303 | SP-555 | SP-404sx | OP-1 | Ableton 10 | Tascam 244 | Adobe Audition 1.5


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2015 1:00 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:19 pm
Posts: 129
I got a mini KP2 for like 30 quid. The mini KP2S still sells for over a hundred but the original is pretty cheap all over.

It pitches an octave and if you stick an SD card in it you can record and resample to your hearts content. Not to mention the other effects..

Would be curious if anyone else copped one, what they think of the quality of the effects and sound. I like it, it runs on two AAs and fits in your pocket, and you can bounce back and forth to the SP.

Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2015 12:01 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:50 pm
Posts: 19
Korg ES-1 or ESX.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:44 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:21 am
Posts: 24
i have a sony cassette deck with a pitch knob. $10 thriftshop find.
seen some tascam and teac decks with pitch as well

i would also suggest bypassing the hardware purism and just using audacity or your software of choice. if all you're doing is going in the box briefly to pitch or stretch i don't see the big deal but that's just me, i'm not trying to undermine anyone's principals or process


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:16 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:05 pm
Posts: 131
Location: Toronto
Nosmo King wrote:
. i worked out that a casio sk-1 might actually be the perfect thing. anybody used one? its 8 bit and only has 1.2 seconds record time so i dunno how useful it will be. i reckon you could play records at a higher speed and pitch them down to get the most out of the sample time which will either sound amazing or unusable with the 8 bit sampling engine! i think it might be better as it will shape my sound. any thoughts?



I have tried this (I own an SK1) and it is dirtier than the sp202, if you can believe it!

It's a bit of a crap shoot getting the sampling to start precisely on time and the looping function on the SK1 is even trickier. However, if you just sample into it and do the trimming or use the mark button on the sp you are using, it should work okay. The SK1 has quite a big range of sample playback speeds on the keyboard once the sample is inside of it, but fine tuning the pitch will be tough. Also, the sample is lost once you turn it off - it doesn't save it like the sp's do.

But if you are after really dirty sounds, try it out!

_________________
chazdolo.bandcamp.com
soundcloud.com/chaz-dolo
youtube@chazdolo


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Pitching
PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 6:34 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 6:03 pm
Posts: 19
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=805

an old topic already exist about that

why everyone create new topic (there is always an old topic about subjects) ?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: