It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:32 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:37 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:49 am
Posts: 112
Hey, ive got my first gig tomorrow, its gonna be a 404 only set

i havent even recorded in all the beats yet never mind practiced! im such an idiot

i have a few questions id really appreciate answering if possible:

does the quality of the music matterr? say i record in one of my beats as a WAV and then record the next from a really shitty youtube upload will it be too bad over a clubs sound system??

do i need to have a limiter on at all times? how do people manage this when they go through different effects?

do i need to learn where i want my delay to be, reverb, etc and dial it in before i play or just wing it?

what else is essential??

i dont even know what im gonna do in between tracks because theres really not much to do!

any help would be amazing, cheers


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:07 pm 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:26 am
Posts: 2714
Location: La Puente
Congrats on your gig!

I would suggest leaving the effect limiter on, unless you're going for some harsh distortion or delay...

Another thing I would definitely do is make a dummy pattern and keeping it going throughout so you can use tap tempo to control your time-based FX on the fly (assuming you're not using the sequencer to play back samples). Also FX grab is useful so you won't get the little drop outs when applying them..

404 OG or SX? I can't remember for the SX but on the OG you can pre-set FX settings, and and they will stay the way you left them when you come back. It memorizes at least a few I'm pretty sure.

Delay is your friend for transitioning between songs-- you can let it ride out at the end while you switch banks or whatever to avoid dead silence... When I play, I throw in little vocal snippets between songs so I can get ready for the next one.

Lastly, Blast that shit LOUD and the quality won't really matter! Good luck!

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/k-e-l


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:21 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:49 am
Posts: 112
kel wrote:
Congrats on your gig!

I would suggest leaving the effect limiter on, unless you're going for some harsh distortion or delay...

Another thing I would definitely do is make a dummy pattern and keeping it going throughout so you can use tap tempo to control your time-based FX on the fly (assuming you're not using the sequencer to play back samples). Also FX grab is useful so you won't get the little drop outs when applying them..

404 OG or SX? I can't remember for the SX but on the OG you can pre-set FX settings, and and they will stay the way you left them when you come back. It memorizes at least a few I'm pretty sure.

Delay is your friend for transitioning between songs-- you can let it ride out at the end while you switch banks or whatever to avoid dead silence... When I play, I throw in little vocal snippets between songs so I can get ready for the next one.

Lastly, Blast that shit LOUD and the quality won't really matter! Good luck!

hey man, thank you very much for such a great reply!

i thought i knew the 404 inside out but thinking about it ive never used tap tempo and i havent got a clue what effects grab is!!

i thought certain effects had a limiter function i didnt realise you could just keep one on on the master out the whole time? how do you do that?

thanks again!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:22 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:49 am
Posts: 112
i got an og btw!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:32 pm 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:26 am
Posts: 2714
Location: La Puente
No prob, glad to help.

To make a dummy pattern, just record a pattern, tap a pad that either has just air on it or is turned all the way down (the SP just wants something to do or it won't play)... now you're free to change tempos on the fly while the pattern's playing.

I'm pretty sure the FX grab is done by holding tap tempo and hitting one of the FX. It gets rid of the slight drop out in sound that comes from just hitting the MFX by itself. also it saves precious time to choose your fx by pad number instead of using ctrl knob. For 1-12 hold MFX and hit a pad, and for 13-24 hold down both vinyl sim and MFX (I think?) and it'll count pad 1 as 13, 2 as 14, etc...

I don't have my 404 in front of me but there is a combination of buttons that allows you to set a limiter on the master.... also to turn the output volume up or down by 12 db. it's in the manual somewhere...

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/k-e-l


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:52 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:17 am
Posts: 361
Whoa what... there is an internal limiter on the 404? I knew about the Effects Limit but this embedded limiter is news to me! Pretty curious now. :lol:

_________________
 (╯°□°)╯ [ニニニ] LOG TRAP


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:57 pm 
Winner of Bronze Medal
Winner of Bronze Medal
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:26 am
Posts: 2714
Location: La Puente
medearis wrote:
Whoa what... there is an internal limiter on the 404? I knew about the Effects Limit but this embedded limiter is news to me! Pretty curious now. :lol:


I think the effects limiter is what I'm talking about... I think you're right, there's no general limiter setting when FX are disabled.

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/k-e-l


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 6:24 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:19 pm
Posts: 126
Location: Montreal, Canada
yeah, the effects limiter is a good idea for live, it sucks when you use the filter and the overdrive is on. Yeah, for a first set it's always better to keep things simple, one shots and maybe play like interludes in between tracks. I don't know if you're the type to get nervous in front of crowds or a couple people but might not be a good idea to do crazy finger drumming on a first gig! And make sure you hear yourself!!!! I wouldn't even hesitate to play with headphones. I did a gig 2 months ago in a store and there was no p.a. I played through a big guitar cabinet. I m so dumb, I set my gear on top of the cabinet and was behind it while playing. Couldn't hear shit!! So, monitoring dude!!

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/sebphfx


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 3:35 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 312
this is an interesting thread.

i dunno if you plan on playing out tracks live or just effect pre made tracks but..

for me.. i like to have banks ABCD FGHI with broken down chops and drums. 1 or 2 tracks per bank depending on complexity.
i can memorise and play these tracks out live so i feel like an actual musician but mainly so i don't get bored haha.

then on banks E and J i have complete tracks, vocal cuts and sound effects that i use between main tracks as transitions and chillin.

this is just the system that works for me but thought i'd share.
good luck with the show man!

_________________
303&404OGSX&555&1200
http://www.soundcloud.com/alnitak_kid
http://www.alnitak-kid.bandcamp.com
https://www.youtube.com/alnitakkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 5:22 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 49
Location: california
Alnitak_Kid wrote:
this is an interesting thread.

i dunno if you plan on playing out tracks live or just effect pre made tracks but..

for me.. i like to have banks ABCD FGHI with broken down chops and drums. 1 or 2 tracks per bank depending on complexity.
i can memorise and play these tracks out live so i feel like an actual musician but mainly so i don't get bored haha.

then on banks E and J i have complete tracks, vocal cuts and sound effects that i use between main tracks as transitions and chillin.

this is just the system that works for me but thought i'd share.
good luck with the show man!



this is insightful. since i got my sp last month, i've been thinking about how i integrate it within my setup. i originally bought it to play my premade (maschine) tracks live.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/strayexcel
https://maketapes.bandcamp.com


Last edited by strayexcel on Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:34 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:21 am
Posts: 282
Location: Texas
Don't forget, you can plug an ipod or iphone into one of the inputs and use music tracks in between sets.

_________________
WTF


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:56 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 312
strayexcel wrote:
this is insightful. since i got my sp last month, i've been thinking about how i integrate it within my setup. i originally bought it to play my premade (maschine) tracks live.


with this method you can also mix tracks.. like having a break loop keep playing from the previous track as you play chops for the next track then switch over.

it takes time and patience to practice and remember what pads are what for each song but as someone coming from mostly playing in bands i find it more rewarding and if there's any critical musicians in the crowd, they'll no doubt appreciate the live element.

i write up a quick set/cheat list with what songs are on what banks and what pad i should trigger first in case i mental blank.

_________________
303&404OGSX&555&1200
http://www.soundcloud.com/alnitak_kid
http://www.alnitak-kid.bandcamp.com
https://www.youtube.com/alnitakkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:05 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 49
Location: california
Alnitak_Kid wrote:
with this method you can also mix tracks.. like having a break loop keep playing from the previous track as you play chops for the next track then switch over.


this is a strategy worth employing

Alnitak_Kid wrote:
it takes time and patience to practice and remember what pads are what for each song but as someone coming from mostly playing in bands i find it more rewarding and if there's any critical musicians in the crowd, they'll no doubt appreciate the live element.


this is the skill that i most certainly am looking to develop. i just wanna be ill!

Alnitak_Kid wrote:
i write up a quick set/cheat list with what songs are on what banks and what pad i should trigger first in case i mental blank.


that's what i've been doing in my iPhone. i'll bring up the notes section and type out where's what in it. I saw Tajima Hal using this method on one of those LeMellotron vids

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/strayexcel
https://maketapes.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:42 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:37 am
Posts: 119
Did a show in june with an OG 404 (with a broken volume knob no less). I did like less than 15min. but I practiced the mix, using delay and bpm looper to transition beats.

I think I was the only one to do that. there were some dope producers there(better than me) that let a second or two of silence go by before playin another beat. didnt sound so bad.

Anyways none of my beats were mastered and several didn't even have bass in em and they still sounded dope on those huge speakers.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: First gig: havent got a clue
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 8:34 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:44 am
Posts: 62
I have my first gig in a week, and man am I nervous too :shock: This was definitely a helpful thread.

@NosmoKing how did your show go?

_________________
Various shenanigans:
http://soundcloud.com/jon_blount
jondegozaru.bandcamp.com
___________~~~~~~~~~~~~~____________


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron