It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:25 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:50 pm 
Member

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 12:33 am
Posts: 25
I know there really isn't any velocity on the SP... especially the 303 since that is what I use, but I was wondering what do you guys do to make up for that?

do you just make a few resampled versions of the sound with volume and slight pitch changes or what? ... This is what i'm thinking of doing after listening to the stale snare in one of my tracks... shit still bangs though.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:33 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:42 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Hartford
I've always altered snare drums by using time-stretch and resampling the snare

I know it doesn't truly effect the velocity but it sounds good and gives you a natural sounding alternate snare drum for your beat.. another option would be to add a subtle sound underneath your snare.. like a clap EQed just right maybe or even a kick drum..

I've never used velocity setting on any machine, it only alters the level. I would rather play with levels in my mix.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 4:36 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:47 am
Posts: 748
Location: Gothenburg SE
Second LesPasta here esp resample with a snare slightly verbed (i dont repitch so often) and add to this a simple copy/paste and vary the volume settings of individual pads slightly makes a resampled beat breathe a little in a subtle way.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/l_i_f
https://l-i-f.bandcamp.com/
_________________

SP-808 | SP-202 | SP-303 | SP-555 | SP-404sx | OP-1 | Ableton 10 | Tascam 244 | Adobe Audition 1.5


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:49 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:33 pm
Posts: 41
Location: vancouver
You can midi up a controller to the 404sx and get velocity, not sure if that works with the 303 though

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/l-noi-r

SP-202 / SP-303 / SP-404SX / MICROKORG


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:31 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7337
Location: France-Italy
sleep dealer wrote:
not sure if that works with the 303 though

tried it, it works with midi machines (xr20,mc909,dr660 etc) the 303 support velocity...


Lif wrote:
Second LesPasta here esp resample with a snare slightly verbed (i dont repitch so often) and add to this a simple copy/paste and vary the volume settings of individual pads slightly makes a resampled beat breathe a little in a subtle way.

i do the volume trick very often
the pitch trick sometimes, but with machines with real pitch it works better

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:33 pm
Posts: 41
Location: vancouver
ellaguru wrote:
sleep dealer wrote:
not sure if that works with the 303 though

tried it, it works with midi machines (xr20,mc909,dr660 etc) the 303 support velocity...


Nice, thought it would, just didnt have one on hand to test it out.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/l-noi-r

SP-202 / SP-303 / SP-404SX / MICROKORG


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 9:55 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
I know the SP404sx responds to Midivelocity from external controllers. So, this would work when doing resampled beats.

But can the pattern sequencer also record/remember velocity?

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/janglesoul


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:45 pm 
Member

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:34 am
Posts: 102
an mpd 18 works too. super cheap. kind of a bitch to set up but gives you the 8 pad layout and velocity.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:24 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:44 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Moscow
SP404Sx can remember velocity in patterns. Made some with MPD32.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:49 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
shub wrote:
SP404Sx can remember velocity in patterns. Made some with MPD32.


Cool! Gotta try that. I bought the Arturia Beatstep the other week (used/half the new price) so I will have to explore this.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/janglesoul


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 11:08 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:44 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Moscow
In my opinion MPD gives more natural velocity feel with sp404 in comparison with Ableton Drum Rack.
Unfortuntely MPD18 have no midi out as for as I imformed. Correct me. This function was only in MPD16


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 7:10 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 243
Location: Austin TX
i use a CMC-PD to give my 505 velocity. no midi out on it but i hook the 505 to my computer with a midi2usb cable and then connect the two with a software patch bay. works like a charm.

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
Korg microSTATION,
FLStudio 20 & Akai Fire,
UbuntuStudio / KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 7:16 pm 
Member

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:34 am
Posts: 102
it was probably a 16 (it was a hand me down i got off a friend that i used once and passed on to another person). Just look for the one with a midi out.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:56 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 779
this is some pretty old and confused sp knowl here but you can play on a MPD/midi controller with level, once you resample with a midi controller, i think it wont support velocity.

THAT MIGHT BE FALSE but i remember reading this somewhere

_________________
Image

BANDCAMP OF DOOM


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: HOW DO YOU GET VELOCITY?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 11:50 pm 
Member

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:34 am
Posts: 102
I was never able to get it to work with patterns on the 303(as far as keeping the velocity info) but i was always resampling which seemed to work fine. I'm assuming that's what you're saying, that the velocity information won't translate to the resampled pad, and when you played it back it would be full volume.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: