It is currently Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:41 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Pro-Tools?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:43 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 113
Location: Missoula, MT
Does anyone out there use pro-tools at all? I'm just curious if it stands up to the hype and how it compares to other software out there. Its just so expensive there has to be something special about it, Right?

_________________
"The older I get, the more life starts to make sense, and the less I care." -Buck65


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 9:04 pm
Posts: 527
it's good I guess... overpriced though.

Pro tools has way to many features for me. I only need something to record my tracks in, that's all.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:50 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:48 pm
Posts: 270
Location: Canada
There's plenty of DAW's that are as good as Pro Tools but it's the industry standard unfortunately.
If you plan on making music for a living(could be film,ads,tv,mainstream),you should get it but you do this for fun or to release on your own,you don't need it...
It's very good for audio but so does Reaper :lol:


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:42 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 9:04 pm
Posts: 527
word, reaper does the job.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 3:41 am
Posts: 140
Location: Atlantis Illuminous
All protools packages aren't expensive. I have the original M-Box version, I thnk 6.4. The ONLY reason I got it was for post production purposes, like being able to send my tracks to any mastering facility on the planet and not having compatibility problems, at least thats what I was thinking originaly a few years back when I got it. (But this is not a problem however, because whatever software you use it can be converted, or whatever if the people working with it are skilled, and have what your working with. Most places ustilze a variety of software) Also working with other artist etc. Truth be told though, I still utilize my Roland VS-880 for a lot of work. And it is definatly NOT a neccesity to have protools. But for me its just somthing that I have just because it is Industry standard ya know. Peace, Duss.

_________________
-Continuing the vintage science of Raw Beats-
http://soundcloud.com/vynal-duss


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:33 pm 
303 Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 4586
Location: Narnia
Like someone already said, it's really only a convenience if your work in the music industry. It's by far not the best program, digidesign was in the right place at the right time when everyone that makes music professionally were thinking about switching to all digital set-ups. I like acid pro and soundforge together but I find that I like adobe audition a lot better than pro tools for more complex audio editing.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/savedbythesmell
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 4:29 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 113
Location: Missoula, MT
Thanks for the info guys, it's good to know. Hey doc, what version of audition do you use? 1, 1.5, or 2? I have 1.5 and i love it, but i recently saw version two and it looks like its got a lot more stuff. Was the change from 1.5 to 2 mostly just cosmetic? Or does 2 have more features?

_________________
"The older I get, the more life starts to make sense, and the less I care." -Buck65


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:24 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:07 am
Posts: 1160
Location: Miami FL
I hate protools mainly because I hate digidesign as a company :) Pro tools software isint bad. Its strait foward and prett much works like a digital console. The LE hardware is trash for the most part. If ne one still has a fully funtional mbox or 002 consideryourselves lucky :) I like Live and digital performer.

_________________
"Tellin my people we can flee to advantage but man is still a man and where he stands he'll leave damage" -Qwel

www.myspace.com/djfrantic


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:10 pm 
303 Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 4586
Location: Narnia
I use adobe audition 2, but I've used it since it was cool edit pro.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/savedbythesmell
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:48 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 113
Location: Missoula, MT
MusicFiend wrote:
Was the change from 1.5 to 2 mostly just cosmetic? Or does 2 have more features?

_________________
"The older I get, the more life starts to make sense, and the less I care." -Buck65


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: