It is currently Mon Oct 21, 2019 8:22 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:21 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:14 am
Posts: 8
Just bought and unboxed. First dumb question. I can't activate LO-FI, GATE, LOOP, REVERSE, HOLD.

Is this because I am using the Loopmaster factory SD card or is this likely a fault?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:35 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:14 pm
Posts: 279
I don't think that it has anything to do with the card.
I mean, the reason they threw in those samples is for you to use them :) wouldn't make much sense if you can't tweak them. And those are pretty much basic functions..
The way I see it 1 if you can't loop a sample, any sample that's playing, or gate it, or whichever - it's a faulty SP no doubt mate...

_________________
KickAHoleInDaSpeakah


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 6:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:44 am
Posts: 234
Make sure you take it out of protection mode.

Cancelling Protection for All Data

1. While holding down the [CANCEL] button, turn on
the power.

The display will indicate “P.oF,” and protection will be
cancelled for the samples and patterns of banks A–J.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:08 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:14 am
Posts: 8
Thanks for the info. I tried sampling with new card and everything (the things I know how to use that is) seemed to work as expected. I'll try the Protection Mode fix. Not sure it is possible to apply to specific SD cards but will give it a try.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:22 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:14 am
Posts: 8
Thanks again for the replies. Just wanted to confirm the Protection Mode fix sorted it out.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:35 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:14 am
Posts: 8
Another dumb question already.

Is it possible to write MFX (or even LO-FI, Delay, Voice Trans, Isolator) to the pad you have the sample on. Seem pretty straightforward to write to another pad but I just want to print the effect to the sample and keep it on the original pad.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:58 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:46 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Estonia
Nope, you have to resample.

_________________
MPC 1000 x SP404SX x Octatrack


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 11:25 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:14 am
Posts: 8
I suppose that means leaving space in each bank for resampling. Is that what most people do?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:35 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:42 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Des Moines, WA
You can always downgrade your samples to squeeze in a bit of room. I got a 1gb card for my 404og and I still have plenty of room! I’m sure cards are easy to find for the SX/A, and you probably can swap in a bigger card if you ever need to.

_________________
Livin my life in da underground


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:13 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:14 am
Posts: 8
I just mean leaving a pad spare in each bank seems to be necessary. Unless you are sure you won't be doing any further resampling. Although for all I know it may be possible to resample to another bank.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 8:46 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Estonia
kolardins wrote:
Although for all I know it may be possible to resample to another bank.


It is!

_________________
MPC 1000 x SP404SX x Octatrack


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:12 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:14 am
Posts: 8
Thanks. This Sp is so cool. I was looking for exactly this but the closest I could find was a Korg Electribe Sampler. That didn't gel so I sold it. I'd never heard of the SP404 until about a week ago.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:55 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:12 pm
Posts: 569
Location: dallas
sorry, wanted to mention something about the factory SD
that shit has a lot of HIGH QUALITY samples on it!!! the ANALOG ORIGINAL TR-808 SAMPLES are the most valuable!!!
i was stupid and formatted it from the get-go
when my homie copped one, i saved the SD card's contents on my computer, so i could use wave converter to get any of em back to use at anytime!
too bad that computer's hard disk failed and i lost everything
back up your data people!!!

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/zendanisdead
HAWTKARL wrote:
The last thing we need is another utube sampling digital lo-fi anime beat maker.

IIIII wrote:
he can turn water into a beat, and feed a thousand dancehalls with only two drumbreaks

"If you want that '90s sound, record at 12 bit as HOT as you can."


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 9:49 am 
New member

Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:14 am
Posts: 8
zendan wrote:
too bad that computer's hard disk failed and i lost everything
back up your data people!!!

I thought you could download the factory content from the Roland website?

SP-404A factory installed data in the included SD Card
https://www.roland.com/au/support/by_pr ... c54c4b4f9/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New SP-404A - here come the dumb questions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2019 9:12 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:12 pm
Posts: 569
Location: dallas
kolardins wrote:
zendan wrote:
too bad that computer's hard disk failed and i lost everything
back up your data people!!!

I thought you could download the factory content from the Roland website?

SP-404A factory installed data in the included SD Card
https://www.roland.com/au/support/by_pr ... c54c4b4f9/


you can
i like to think it's not the same

idk how they program those SD cards, but the only way to make sure the quality is the same downloading it online,
you have to download the shit without compressing the files and import it straight to an SD card for the 404 [like through wave converter] to make sure no sound cards or whatever fuck up the fidelity

i'm sure it's fine if you download it and do that ,i bet it's the exact same

i just like to imagine it's special when u get the OG roland sd card lmao

the thing about backing up your data was regardless of this
that's just an important thing i try to remind everyone of

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/zendanisdead
HAWTKARL wrote:
The last thing we need is another utube sampling digital lo-fi anime beat maker.

IIIII wrote:
he can turn water into a beat, and feed a thousand dancehalls with only two drumbreaks

"If you want that '90s sound, record at 12 bit as HOT as you can."


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: