It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:31 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Resampling From DAW to SP-202 for LoFi Feel
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:54 am 
Member

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:23 am
Posts: 19
I was thinking I could sample a clean sounding phrase from Ableton into the SP-202 to give it some more character. Is this something anyone else has done?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resampling From DAW to SP-202 for LoFi Feel
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:00 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:27 am
Posts: 790
Location: Massachusetts, U.S.A.
It's been done before. And it works to bring an analog feel to digitally formatted audiophile.
I myself prefer the crunchy analog grit over clean, crisp digi files.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/mattcoopshiphop
Blogging ill sounds at Dope Lofi


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resampling From DAW to SP-202 for LoFi Feel
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:28 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:28 pm
Posts: 175
Location: australia
Yep some people only use certain samplers just for that sound while still working with software, but all samplers are still digital, unless your sampler had little tapes inside, like a mellotron then its not analog. All samplers are just little computers in boxes.

_________________
Soundcloud:
https://soundcloud.com/spinxytunes
Free beat tape:
http://spinxytunes.bandcamp.com/album/n ... -beat-tape
New album!:
http://www.braincast.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resampling From DAW to SP-202 for LoFi Feel
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 11:19 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 8:38 pm
Posts: 23
MattCoops wrote:
It's been done before. And it works to bring an analog feel to digitally formatted audiophile.
I myself prefer the crunchy analog grit over clean, crisp digi files.


although I understand what you're saying, it's kinda funny considering how the sp-202 is digital. :D

_________________
SleepyXTRA //Sum Tapes

I did it


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resampling From DAW to SP-202 for LoFi Feel
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 12:57 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:39 am
Posts: 93
I do this all the time. Mostly record my main sample into the 202 and then chop in ableton. Also sometimes record a whole finished track into the 202. I like to have more control of my sound so i usually just do the first.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/imonlysleeping


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Resampling From DAW to SP-202 for LoFi Feel
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 12:16 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 1:05 am
Posts: 605
Location: Cypress, CA
L.C.W wrote:
Yep some people only use certain samplers just for that sound while still working with software, but all samplers are still digital, unless your sampler had little tapes inside, like a mellotron then its not analog. All samplers are just little computers in boxes.


YES!

I wish more people would understand this. Thank you for making this post. :mrgreen:

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: