It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:40 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: roland js 30 sampler
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:05 pm 
Funniest Member of the Year '09

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:06 am
Posts: 1878
Image

people asking to much for these. it has a crossfader to hook a turnntable up to and sample.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:36 pm 
Most Helpful Member of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:13 am
Posts: 2778
Location: Netherlands
It has one of those features I'd like to see return to the sampler industry.. crossfaders for insta-scratchability directly on a sampler.

_________________
"A man who misses his opportunity, and a monkey who misses his branch,
cannot be saved."

www.myspace.com/phemoxband
www.myspace.com/phemox
www.soundclick.com/phemox


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 12:29 am 
303 Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 4578
Location: Narnia
The crossfader built in is key.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/savedbythesmell
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:03 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:41 pm
Posts: 737
I wonder what 'the word' on the JS is.
I came across this vid with Battlecat where he's sing the praises of some older Roland rack sampler, something 9000?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNBcBqLg ... ader/view/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:18 pm 
Most Helpful Member of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:13 am
Posts: 2778
Location: Netherlands
Probably the Akai S9000 rack?

_________________
"A man who misses his opportunity, and a monkey who misses his branch,
cannot be saved."

www.myspace.com/phemoxband
www.myspace.com/phemox
www.soundclick.com/phemox


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:39 pm 
MV Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:58 pm
Posts: 405
Location: UK
PHeMoX wrote:
Probably the Akai S9000 rack?


Nawg man, it's this ROLAND VP-9000, sounds dope but the 6 voice poly makes it only useful only for audio tracks and few simple instruments where no more than 6 notes are played at a time.

http://www.vintagesynth.com/roland/vp9000.shtml

_________________
http://www.olbyonline.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:56 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:41 pm
Posts: 737
That's the one. I guess it was a pioneer in being able to change pitch while keeping in tune.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:04 am 
MV Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:58 pm
Posts: 405
Location: UK
Listen to the demo of the pitch shift on that site! It sounds waaay better than that on 404/505 and other lower budget samplers.

_________________
http://www.olbyonline.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: roland js 30 sampler
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:30 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:38 pm
Posts: 445
Location: toledo ohio
I used to have a js 30. it was cool but saving was a pain. you had to either find an old SCSI hard drive or use the save to tape function. I would save to a mini disc or even to another sampler. when I would dump the data in the form of audio onto my s20 I would resample the entire data stream to 16khz and at the end of the data stream when it plays the samples back into the js. they would be down converted from the s20.

I bought it for 50$ with all the manuals two years ago.
I sold it earlier this year.

_________________
http://www.lapsrecords.com
http://www.google.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: roland js 30 sampler
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:16 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 2301
Location: Adelaide
that one looks like someone fished it out of the sewage system :?

_________________
Samples.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: roland js 30 sampler
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 12:29 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7157
Location: France-Italy
i saw that in france for only 75€
roland says it is portable...but 48x27cm...how can they say that...
anyway, i read the manual but i didnt understand if you can use the sequencer as mpc/sp505/sp606/mv etc i mean i know it has a metronome but...

*****

for the crossfader:
i got an akai remix16, very cool for that purpose...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: roland js 30 sampler
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:37 pm 
Awesome Member

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:09 pm
Posts: 2379
Location: Berlin
A crossfader? :lol:
The only thing that's missing is a 7'' slot...


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: roland js 30 sampler
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 6:20 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 5:21 pm
Posts: 1
Im going to go a head and bump this thread instead of making a new one , still cant find any decent information on this piece. anyone actully owns it here?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: