It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:30 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: General Q&A's
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:32 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 210


Last edited by keesj on Sat Apr 04, 2009 7:43 pm, edited 12 times in total.

Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:33 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 210
Problem: For some reason my samples cut off or don't play all the way to the end of my pattern sequence.

Solution: Most likely you have the sample set to loop or gate playback, place the sample to 1-shot playback and restart the pattern sequence.

Source: DR.Sample303


Last edited by keesj on Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:34 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 210
Problem: My samples in the pattern sequencer sound disjointed or choppy on playback.

Solution: Set quantize to 1/4th notes and place the snares and then place the hi-hats on 1/8th note quantize and then kicks on 1/16th note quantize so they have more space to fit in the groove. Stop the sequence and take your main instrumental samples you want to use and put them on gated playback and go back to recording the pattern and hold down the pad to make the sample record and release it right when you hear the snare hit, now your chops will fit to the beat even if they're not the same bpm as the sequence.

Source: DR.Sample303


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:42 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 210
Problem: How do I connect my SP to my computer so that I may record it?

Solution: You will need a "stereo headphone plug to dual rca plugs Y
adapter cable". It can be purchased just about anywhere that
sells electronics. Simply plug the rca's into your SP's "line
out" and plug the headphone plug into you computer's "line in".
You may have to adjust the volume or unmute the "line in" via
your soundcard/audio interface's volume control.

Image

Source: hematurge


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:39 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 210
Question: What Compact Flash cards are compatible with my machine?

Answer:
Running list of ones that work:
    2GB, 1gb, 512mb Ultra II Sandisk
    JAMedia 2gb
    2gb compactflash sandisk (red and blue)
    Verbatim 2GB (green)
    Digital Media - Simple Tech 64mb, 128mb
    Xtra Speed 256mb
    Dane-Elec 1GB
    Sandisk Extreme 3 2GB
    Digitex CompactFlash 1GB

Ones with issues:
    Kingston CF/1GB (with the flower on it) -could have been a bad card
    Lexar 2gb premium series 80x -could have been a bad card
    Lexar 128mb 8x


You can find some more information in this thread: viewtopic.php?t=1623

Source: lotspoop and other contributors in this topic


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 2:15 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:07 pm
Posts: 210
Question: Which SmartMedia card should I buy? (aka How do I find out if a SmartMedia card is 3.3 or 5 volt?)

Answer:
The SP 202 uses the 5 volt version. The 303 and 505 use the 3.3v.

You can find out if it's 3.3 volts by looking at the side with the golden chip.
Only 3.3v cards have the right corner cut off, the 5v ones are opposite!

You can find some more information in this thread: viewtopic.php?t=2446

Source: hageir & hematurge


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: