It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:16 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:10 pm 
404 Award Winner '09 + Beat of the Year '09 + Tape of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:37 am
Posts: 2235
Location: New York
AUTOCHOPP wrote:
yeah,but the 808 dont have "auto chopp" like the 606


then your in the ghetto with us 404/303 users 8)

_________________
Image
Image

http://www.myspace.com/juxtkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:52 am 
Awesome Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:09 pm
Posts: 2382
Location: Berlin
is it cooo with you if I would copy my patterns with the computer?!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 2288
Location: Berlin, Germany
isn't it easier/faster to do the back-up workaround?

_________________
kill your darlings


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:35 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 7:12 am
Posts: 1357
Location: tohoku, japan
i would say that in the spirit of the game you shouldn't use your pc for much at all (i.e. streaming the jams/uploading/etc... and that's all).

i just got a padkontrol and it is sweet how the pads respond. i mean my 404 is on whole 'nother level now and i would love to use it when i battle but...

the rules are just your sp and i know some cats are killin' it with their 303/404 (in the ghetto :lol: ) so for the battles i'll keep it relative; but everything else will be sequenced using my padkontrol to send veloc.

_________________
insert funny comment here.
http://soundcloud.com/jon-ill


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:00 pm 
Awesome Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:09 pm
Posts: 2382
Location: Berlin
Drewzle wrote:
isn't it easier/faster to do the back-up workaround?



... I ask cause I like to battle outside... and having already some copies of my main-pattern would make it a bit more comfartable, cause saving and loading needs a lot of battery power (which is really needless) and tiiiiime anyway... but I think shouldn't do that... I guess SP only really means SP ONLY... but in the end it's allright, with me... who cares about the earth, anyway ?!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:34 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 7:12 am
Posts: 1357
Location: tohoku, japan
:lol: ^^^^
just copy the files on your pc, if that's the case but it still is sorta breakin' the rulez. of course i'm not the final say: that would be juxt and ig9 yo. i tend to use the portable aspect much less than i thought i would so i didn't know that took so much batt. power.

_________________
insert funny comment here.
http://soundcloud.com/jon-ill


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:06 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:06 pm
Posts: 129
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
I think I might join in on the next battle, and I have a question: Can use a MIDI keyboard to get velocity out of the 404?

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/3cpu

http://www.myspace.com/0013x


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:10 pm 
404 Award Winner '09 + Beat of the Year '09 + Tape of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:37 am
Posts: 2235
Location: New York
nope. all SP and SP only

_________________
Image
Image

http://www.myspace.com/juxtkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:13 am 
Member

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:06 pm
Posts: 129
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Cool. I'm amped to get in on these battles.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/3cpu

http://www.myspace.com/0013x


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:13 am 
555 Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:04 am
Posts: 1987
Location: *The Bay Area California*
i wish the 555 had auto chop =(

_________________
www.soundcloud.com/JayLost


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:56 pm 
Member

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:45 pm
Posts: 274
Location: Orlando, Florida
Am I allowed to use a combination of the sp 404 and sp 202 or do I have to pick one? I assume a CPU is allowed for sequencing and EQ!? Please let me know. Thanks!!!!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Da Rules...
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:17 pm 
Awesome Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:09 pm
Posts: 2382
Location: Berlin
iG9 wrote:

1. All SPs only SPs. all chops, all sequencing. External mastering (E.Q., compression) is ok but don't rearrange anything


And of course just one machine...


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:42 pm 
404 Award Winner '09 + Beat of the Year '09 + Tape of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:37 am
Posts: 2235
Location: New York
Amable wrote:
Am I allowed to use a combination of the sp 404 and sp 202 or do I have to pick one? I assume a CPU is allowed for sequencing and EQ!? Please let me know. Thanks!!!!



No cpu for sequencing, you can use external EQ for mastering. But you cannot apply an external EQ to individual tracks, it can only be applied to the entire finished mix.

you cant use more than one SP, unless you use one SP for mastering- (mastering by using the FX, no other kind of external editing). A few questions to be discussed is what the FX are limited to (if they are limited at all) , and can these FX be adjusted live.

_________________
Image
Image

http://www.myspace.com/juxtkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:51 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 1:29 am
Posts: 30
would love to join the battles once i get my 303, but the whole no outside drum thing is fairly restrictive, i mean the best samples always dont have ne drums to give u more freedom to create a new melody, so where are the drums goin to come from? plus most hip hop beats are made from three or four basic elements of sample, drums, bass and fx, if u just limit it to choppin up a sample u are missin the full potenial of the sample.ne way jus sayin, i dont even have my 303 yet its in the post, but just from expierence at other beat battle these restrictions will restrict creativity.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:56 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 113
Location: Missoula, MT
SertOne wrote:
would love to join the battles once i get my 303, but the whole no outside drum thing is fairly restrictive, i mean the best samples always dont have ne drums to give u more freedom to create a new melody, so where are the drums goin to come from? plus most hip hop beats are made from three or four basic elements of sample, drums, bass and fx, if u just limit it to choppin up a sample u are missin the full potenial of the sample.ne way jus sayin, i dont even have my 303 yet its in the post, but just from expierence at other beat battle these restrictions will restrict creativity.


Pretty much all the battles have had drum samples as well as a normal sample. And if it doesn't, you just have to get creative with your sp to get drum sounds from nothing. Once you get your sp you'll understand...

_________________
"The older I get, the more life starts to make sense, and the less I care." -Buck65


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: