It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:24 pm

Post subject: using sp555 to put effects on tracks in ableton
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 5:54 pm 

Hi there,

Im new to production and in need of help! So I am trying to put effects from the sp-555 onto clips in ableton...is this possible?? I don't have a soundcard- am using the sp-555 as the interface.. any help would be much appreciated. It seems I can send a sample with an effect from the sp-555 to ableton,and record it in no problem- it plays back with the effect. But if I play a clip from ableton and use the sp-555 to put an effect on-then record it in, I hear it through the stereo but it doesn't record it with the effect.. any help much appreciated!

J :D

Post subject: Re: using sp555 to put effects on tracks in ableton
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:54 pm 

hey there,
just play back the clip in ableton with the effect turned on and record it onto a new track in ableton.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:58 pm 

Do you mean play the clip in ableton and record back into the sp-555- and then back again to ableton in a new track? I was hoping to avoid that as it is alot of hassle to go back and forth. Rather than having to go back and forth I would like to basically apply effects from the sampler to what i've made in ableton while recording...that is my problem for some reason it doesn't record it with the effect from the sampler?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:34 pm 

yea, i wanted to do this yesterday and then i figured out it was bullshit. sorry. :P
one possibility to not having to go back and forth with the sample would be plugging it into your sound card via the cinch output on the back. but if you're using the sp-555 as your soundcard then there's no way around that.

or maybe recording with audacity works? it has an "record what you hear" option in it.
that way it could be less of a hassle.

hope that helps in any way

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:43 am