It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:24 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Question: When/where has your SP-555 Skipped?
Resampling  30%  30%  [ 3 ]
Sampling  10%  10%  [ 1 ]
Loop Capture  20%  20%  [ 2 ]
Saving Loop to a Pad  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Using Internal Memory  0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Using CF Card Memory  10%  10%  [ 1 ]
My SP-555 has Never Skipped  30%  30%  [ 3 ]
Total votes : 10
Author Message
 Post subject: Elimintate Skipping While Resampling (using internal memory)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:59 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:13 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Michigan, USA
The pattern mode is really not for me, I like to make my songs one resample overdub at a time. On my heavily used cards, sometimes they will skip while resampling longer audio with FX. They need formatting but I am trying to lay something down and don't have my CF card reader with me.

What works best for me is to export the samples you're working with to WAV, then import the samples on the internal memory. Then resample to an open pad on the internal memory. I try to keep my internal memory free for this reason.

Internal memory is less likely to skip :?: (it hasn't happened to me yet). Then I copy the sample back to the card, unless I'm going to resample something eles using it right away, and clear the "copied" samples from the internal memory.

Hope this helps. 8)


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Elimintate Skipping While Resampling (using internal memory)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:10 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:54 pm
Posts: 518
Never had a issue using 2 Gb sandisk ultra II cards. The only reason my 555 skips is because of me not the machine. One issue I do have though is when I try to record in pattern sequencer 4 measures or less it will never record the pattern, just dead space. Is this a card related issue?? Yes I have pads off gate and loop mode when sequencing. Any help with this is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/endorshores
http://endorshores.bandcamp.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Elimintate Skipping While Resampling (using internal memory)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:13 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Michigan, USA
I am also using the SanDisk Ultra II 2GB, this is the card that skips occasionally.
This happens after I have deleted / copied / moved pads around a bit. This is the first time it's happened, but I havent formatted it since the initial format.

Good luck with your issue, maybe post it in the correct spot on the forum. I don't use the pattern sequencer currently.

_________________
Check out my project Lectro:
http://www.dailymotion.com/Cubilas (my live sampler music video channel)
Also, watch more weirdness on my YouTube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/alexriesenbeck (weirdness, music and more)
Image
May PEACE Prevail ON EARTH


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Elimintate Skipping While Resampling (using internal memory)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:17 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 577
i've been having the same issue on my og 404 when trying to make beats through resampling. i want to use the external banks for resampling cause the internal has more limited time but loops are skipping during resample. my prob is i have every bank loaded with drum hits except for one empty external bank. so do i need to free up the card banks or should i clear out the internal banks?

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/wigmaster


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Elimintate Skipping While Resampling (using internal memory)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:26 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:54 pm
Posts: 518
yo-yo crunch wrote:
i've been having the same issue on my og 404 when trying to make beats through resampling. i want to use the external banks for resampling cause the internal has more limited time but loops are skipping during resample. my prob is i have every bank loaded with drum hits except for one empty external bank. so do i need to free up the card banks or should i clear out the internal banks?


If u are having issues with it skipping while using external banks. I would try freeing up some space on the card. First maybe try another card to see if it is a card problem instead of to much memory on card?

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/endorshores
http://endorshores.bandcamp.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: