It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:17 pm

Post subject: Buying a 303 or 404- QUESTIONS!
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:13 am 

this is my first post, and i'm about as much of a "noob" as there can be

so, i've been looking into buying either a 303 or a 404 for some time now. i have no experience with samplers at all, but i've been making music through other means for a couple of years now (mostly with my best friend, who uses logic) using strictly guitar/bass/drums/piano. to be honest, i didn't hear about the sp's until i looked into what panda bear used to make "person pitch" (phenomenal record), but when i found out i kinda decided i really REALLY wanted one. what he does on that record is exactly the type of technique that i'm interested in experimenting with. also, i know the guys in animal collective use it as well, and i love everything they've done. basically, i'm looking to do some cool lo-fi sampling and probably layer some vocals and instruments on top of it. so my question is, as a beginner, do i go for the 303 or 404? also, where can i go to find the best deals on either of these? i'm looking hopefully to spend around or under $250.

just really psyched right now at the prospect of making music with one of these samplers. i'll be purchasing most likely in the next week or two. any help that you guys can give me is tremendously appreciated. thanks so much. sorry for the long post.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:54 am 

bump. again, anything and everything is much appreciated!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:35 am 

With $250, you could pick up either (ebay or craigslist). I have a 303 and I love it. For most people, though, I would suggest a 404 because it is basically a beefed up 303. More pads, cards are easier to find, much faster, battery powered, few more efx, pattern changes that are on-time, etc etc.