It is currently Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:51 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 4:21 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:00 am
Posts: 168
I have an idea about how to use the card from your BR600 directly into your SP-606 (or 404 or 555). I don't know if this will work, though. If I'm not mistaken, the BR600 could also be used as an ad hoc sampler/drum sequencer as well.

What you would do is format a CF card in your groovebox, then load said card into a CF reader on your computer, copy the \Roland directory and everything in it to a temporary directory on your PC's hard disk, then copy that folder onto a card that was formatted for the BR600. If the BR600 also formats the card with a \Roland directory, then copy everything from the one for the SP into the one for the BR600. Now you should be able export samples from your SP or BR, take the card out and plug into the other machine, then import the .wav or .aif files without having to go through a PC first. I don't have a BR or any other hardware sampler or whatever that uses a CompactFlash card, so could someone please test this theory out for me?

_________________
--------------------------------------------
To the creative mind boredom is fleeting.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:22 pm 
Awesome Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 4:32 am
Posts: 914
Location: Agartha
that's a neat idea.

_________________
innate knowledge is the foundation of all reality...


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:51 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:43 am
Posts: 301
Location: Norway
this will not work.. but it doesn't matter really.

This will not wirk 'cos:
the sp-404(cant talk for any of the other models) only load samples saved in the root folder.. if you export a sound on the br600 it will be saved in root--->roland-->usb

It doesn't matter 'cos:
you only hook up your output on the br600 to the input on you sp, put it on autorecord and press play on the br600.
It works really great.


The br600 is a real good tool to use with your sp! just think of it. I know many of you love the lofi mono drums but jjust thinkk of this..

you have some stereo drum samples, you program some patterns with kick, snare, hihat, crash. this can tak up to 8 voices.. now you plug your br to the output of your sp. press record on the br and play on the sp. then record it back to a pad using autorecord... now it only takes up 2 voices! it really works great!

plus it has many cool fxs to, and if ou're about to record bassguitar, synth(i know a lot of you, like me have the microkorg without any sequenser) guitar or vocals, you can record with a metronome...

It also has a "submixer" what this does is you can plug your sp in to the line in, and a mic to the mic in, now you can record your mic while you're listning to the sp at the same time thru the br but not reocrding th sp...


sorry for the bad english but the br600 really kicks ass!

_________________
Musician, noisemaker, knobtwister and monomer.

http://kristofferlislegaard.com/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:15 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 2301
Location: Adelaide
Quote:
yo cartesia, are you 'gav_stillnotcrazy'?


yup

and yeah listed the mpc500 on ebay


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:49 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:07 am
Posts: 1160
Location: Miami FL
The MPC500 is what you what you get when Akai trys to be Roland and fails :)

_________________
"Tellin my people we can flee to advantage but man is still a man and where he stands he'll leave damage" -Qwel

www.myspace.com/djfrantic


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:24 am 
Most Helpful Member of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:13 am
Posts: 2778
Location: Netherlands
Dj Frantic wrote:
The MPC500 is what you what you get when Akai trys to be Roland and fails :)


So MPC500 vs. Roland SP-555 ... Roland wins? I'm thinking of buying either the Mpc500 or the SP-555. :)

(Btw, hi everyone!! Very useful forums here. )

_________________
"A man who misses his opportunity, and a monkey who misses his branch,
cannot be saved."

www.myspace.com/phemoxband
www.myspace.com/phemox
www.soundclick.com/phemox


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 2:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 2301
Location: Adelaide
PHeMoX wrote:
Dj Frantic wrote:
The MPC500 is what you what you get when Akai trys to be Roland and fails :)


So MPC500 vs. Roland SP-555 ... Roland wins? I'm thinking of buying either the Mpc500 or the SP-555. :)

(Btw, hi everyone!! Very useful forums here. )


hmm.. two very different devices, what do you plan on using it for?

the big draw for the MPCs is they can sequence external gear as well, and that they have separate sequencing tracks - ie you could mute the kick drum while the rest played, etc.. there are ways to fake this with the roland but basically everything is recorded on one sequence track, whereas the MPC has a separate track for each sample.

Dont buy the MPC500 though if you end up going with akai! get a second hand 1000 instead


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 3:02 pm 
404 Award Winner '09 + Beat of the Year '09 + Tape of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:37 am
Posts: 2232
Location: New York
Dj Frantic wrote:
The MPC500 is what you what you get when Akai trys to be Roland and fails :)


and the MV-8000/8800 is what you get when roland tries to be akai and fails.

_________________
Image
Image

http://www.myspace.com/juxtkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 5:46 pm 
Most Helpful Member of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:13 am
Posts: 2778
Location: Netherlands
cartesia wrote:
PHeMoX wrote:
Dj Frantic wrote:
The MPC500 is what you what you get when Akai trys to be Roland and fails :)


So MPC500 vs. Roland SP-555 ... Roland wins? I'm thinking of buying either the Mpc500 or the SP-555. :)

(Btw, hi everyone!! Very useful forums here. )


hmm.. two very different devices, what do you plan on using it for?

the big draw for the MPCs is they can sequence external gear as well, and that they have separate sequencing tracks - ie you could mute the kick drum while the rest played, etc.. there are ways to fake this with the roland but basically everything is recorded on one sequence track, whereas the MPC has a separate track for each sample.

Dont buy the MPC500 though if you end up going with akai! get a second hand 1000 instead


I plan to use it to make songs (hip-hop but also trance/techno perhaps), nothing live probably. It would be nice to be able to plug-in things like a microphone and/or bassguitar/normal guitar. Sampling should not be too difficult either and I need some effects.

How are the effects on the MPC1000? I hear a lot of people complain about it saying it's a little too complicated in normal use?

_________________
"A man who misses his opportunity, and a monkey who misses his branch,
cannot be saved."

www.myspace.com/phemoxband
www.myspace.com/phemox
www.soundclick.com/phemox


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:26 pm 
404 Award Winner '09 + Beat of the Year '09 + Tape of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:37 am
Posts: 2232
Location: New York
PHeMoX wrote:
How are the effects on the MPC1000? I hear a lot of people complain about it saying it's a little too complicated in normal use?


some will disagree but i think the fx on the 1000 are ill.

_________________
Image
Image

http://www.myspace.com/juxtkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:26 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:07 am
Posts: 1160
Location: Miami FL
The SP-555 can also sequence external gear...just not as nicely as the MPC :)
If would stay away from the MPC500. Ne thing above an MPC1000 (and the 60) is nice but the 500 is not made to be a stand alone machine... u cant even adjust the friggin level of your samples on it ! you gotta adjust the velocity to lower the levels :)

_________________
"Tellin my people we can flee to advantage but man is still a man and where he stands he'll leave damage" -Qwel

www.myspace.com/djfrantic


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:51 pm 
Most Helpful Member of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:13 am
Posts: 2778
Location: Netherlands
Thanks for the advice guys, much appreciated!

I've done some more thinking and I think it's going to be a SP-555 then. Honestly because I'm not all that excited getting a second-hand MPC1000 from eBay. Prices are good and it's not that I don't trust eBay, but you know.. feels more comfortable buying in a regular store and money isn't thát much of an issue. (not willing to spend more than 1000$ though at the moment)

Another question if I may, what are the limitations of the SP-555 or at least things that are more difficult to do with it or things that annoy because it's not possible or not as easy to do? Any things in particular that turned you of whilst working with it?

I ám looking for something that can work stand-alone, but I don't need anything truly portable and will have it hooked up with a PC and software anyways.. Currently I'm leaning towards buying a SP-555, but I'd love to hear your thoughts on this. :D

Thanks again!

_________________
"A man who misses his opportunity, and a monkey who misses his branch,
cannot be saved."

www.myspace.com/phemoxband
www.myspace.com/phemox
www.soundclick.com/phemox


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:59 pm 
404 Award Winner '09 + Beat of the Year '09 + Tape of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:37 am
Posts: 2232
Location: New York
One big limitation of the sp-555 is shitty timestretch/pitch shift. I think i remember someone on the site saying the timestretch/pitch shift sounded better than the 404, but i wouldnt trust it to be much better.

As long as you dont mind using your ears and less eyes- And you dont mind getting grimy on the track mixing then you should be fine.

_________________
Image
Image

http://www.myspace.com/juxtkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:47 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:07 am
Posts: 1160
Location: Miami FL
The thing the average MPC junkie complains about is usually the sequencer. Its just 1 track sequencer with quantize, real time recording and real time editing (press the del. button and hold down the pads you want to delete from the seq.) Thats about it. But its all you really need unless your really into step editing. If you are looking for all in one I think the 555 is your machine. Its also a audio/midi interface and a card reader. The MPCs USB only works as a card reader so you would need to buy an audio interface + software to record your stuff (oh ya, the 555 also comes with recording and editing software) The fx on the MPC arent very good at all and work thru a send/return system. The effects on the 555 are SICK. Especially the lofi compressor... wow... that thing is insane.

_________________
"Tellin my people we can flee to advantage but man is still a man and where he stands he'll leave damage" -Qwel

www.myspace.com/djfrantic


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:46 am 
Most Helpful Member of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 9:13 am
Posts: 2778
Location: Netherlands
Thanks again 8)

As far as the sequencer limitation goes, that's probably not much of a problem because you can edit in software lateron I guess. :)

Cool, can't wait to purchase the SP-555 now.

Edit: Hehehehe, sorry for asking yet another question, but how does the SP-555 compare to the SP-606??

_________________
"A man who misses his opportunity, and a monkey who misses his branch,
cannot be saved."

www.myspace.com/phemoxband
www.myspace.com/phemox
www.soundclick.com/phemox


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: