It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:08 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:47 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7262
Location: France-Italy
have you experience with this primitive sampler of the '90? maybe it's also a sequencer, but i didn't find the manual on the need.

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:25 am 
Newcomer of the Year '09
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:24 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
I don't think it's a sequencer. I saw this youtube clip once of that sampler, and it's quite neat. You have one of those, man?

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/computersmusic
http://www.lesbraun.bandcamp.com
SP-404 - Tascam 414 MKII
FORMERLY KNOWN AS COMPUTERS OR AKADEMIK


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:26 am 
Member

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 9:30 am
Posts: 131
Hmm, it seems to be a forerunner to the SP series. Wish I knew about it back in '95, I might have bought one! :)
I found a review over at Sound On Sound:
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/1995_ar ... ndms1.html


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:49 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7262
Location: France-Italy
COMPUTERS wrote:
I don't think it's a sequencer. I saw this youtube clip once of that sampler, and it's quite neat. You have one of those, man?

no i don't. but i like its crapy look mid '90 style. i think you can sequence with this.
@lezlie: thanx.
i would like to know if it works with batteries, its dimensions etc

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:59 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7262
Location: France-Italy
i read the reviews.
the ms-1 is a toy with 4trax. you can sequence or use it as a module (midi in/out).
the negative points: the pitch and the sample rate is valuable for all the sample, i.e. changing the pitch or rate of 1 sample you change for every samples.
nothing 'bout dimensions/batteries.

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:59 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 4:35 am
Posts: 1202
Location: Blytheville, Arkansas.
I have one of these. It has a non time referenced sequencer. It just records button presses no metronome, no quant, no bpm, none of that. I never really had time to mess with it much before I fucked it up. Tried to load the os update from the Roland site and the file is corrupt and basically bricked it. Haven't gotten around to sending in to be fixed now that I got the 404 and all. I do have the manual, so if you guys have any specific questions I'll answer best I can.

_________________
@ColeRockLee everywhere!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:13 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7262
Location: France-Italy
thanx.
what's the dimensions of it?
do you like(ed) its sound?

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:05 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 2285
Location: Berlin, Germany
hematurge wrote:
It has a non time referenced sequencer. It just records button presses no metronome, no quant, no bpm, none of that.


:shock: that's pretty fuckin interesting

_________________
kill your darlings


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:57 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 4:35 am
Posts: 1202
Location: Blytheville, Arkansas.
ellaguru wrote:
thanx.
what's the dimensions of it?
do you like(ed) its sound?


It's about 8 1/2 inches x 6 inches x 1 1/8 inches
(21.9cm x 15cm x 3cm) about the size of a vhs tape.

I like the sound of it. Lofi-ness similar to the samples from the DR-660.

_________________
@ColeRockLee everywhere!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:09 am 
Funniest Member of the Year '09

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:06 am
Posts: 1878
yea it sounds awesome i think, and sounds better when you pitch the samples down, and it sounds better when you record you live set to tape, then back into the box and pitch it again. you can also make hard core weird syntheziser noises by zooming in real close.

_________________
I/O - EHT - Evangelist.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:06 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7262
Location: France-Italy
cool

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:50 am 
Funniest Member of the Year '09

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:06 am
Posts: 1878
its pretty dope for autodrum mpc type drummin. its mad ghetto with no clock but it is good.its rad to make some crazy bass jigs .they used to be like 50 bucks now there 200. one time i saw the same xr 20 on ebay for like 5 years. but 200 is to much.

_________________
I/O - EHT - Evangelist.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:02 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7262
Location: France-Italy
master Lo wrote:
its pretty dope for autodrum mpc type drummin. its mad ghetto with no clock but it is good.its rad to make some crazy bass jigs .they used to be like 50 bucks now there 200. one time i saw the same xr 20 on ebay for like 5 years. but 200 is to much.


i got an xr20. payed 120€ (168$). good hiphop/d'n'b drums and some nice synth/bass. but not very tweakable for live fx (as the dr rythm 202 wich i would like to try).

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:26 am 
Funniest Member of the Year '09

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:06 am
Posts: 1878
oh hell i was stoned when i typed that i meant akai s 20 .

haha.

_________________
I/O - EHT - Evangelist.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: ROLAND MS-1
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:00 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7262
Location: France-Italy
master Lo wrote:
oh hell i was stoned when i typed that i meant akai s 20 .

haha.

ahaa..ok
i got the akai remix 16, exactly the same as the s20...plus some dj tricks (crossfader, live pitch, transformer etc), but it's the same machine. good/limited old gears from 1996...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: