It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:39 pm

Post subject: New gear purchase - suggestions.
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:49 am 

Hey all,
I've been going through a bit of gear lately - most recently an SP-505 and MC-909. I seem to purchase things then get over them in a couple of months - but make me learn a lot more abou what I want as a next purchase..

Anyway, a couple of things I don't like about the MC909: it's too big, and I just can't get into the feel of the pads (I'm a drummer, so this is super important to me when bangin in drum loops). I was thinking a small (possibly portable) sampler/sequencer would be a good choice - maybe the MPC500 even.. Not sure about the smaller SPs, as really like having a bit of an LCD display onboard.

So.. any suggestions?.. I'm looking to have a bit of fun laying tracks down, mainly bass and drum riffs for RnB and house style music.. Also really interested in getting into some remixing - I love pulling my collection of 80s music out and laying down some nice riffs over the top.. Portable would be good, but at least smallish in size..

Any ideas? :) Maybe I'm better off stickin to the laptop and maybe getting an MPC style pad controller... At least that way I can still mess around while travelling on business which I'm doing a lot these days...

Thanks! :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 3:13 pm 
Awesome Member

4-0-4

proberbly the best portable remix-machine ever...

Get it & love it! (even without a display)

Post subject: mixer
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 6:35 pm 

What does everyone think of this piece of gear:

http://www.crestaudio.com/products/brow ... Series.cfm

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:26 am 

Thanks Wax Inspektor.. :)
The SP-404 does look good, although coming from an MC-909 and SP-505 - maybe I need more of a change.. I know this is the SP forum, but interested to even look at other brands (if though I'm a massive Roland fan boy :) ) ..