It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:25 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: sp 1200
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 2:09 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 143
Location: TORONTO
I finally got a sp 1200 after hunting one down for years loving the lo fi sound sound I get out of this thing and the work flow is real easy.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 1:29 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:11 pm
Posts: 446
awesome dude, props . you should make some drums kits and share the 12 bit goodness with us. :D If i had a couple grand, I would cop a sp12 turbo, I cant stand floppies tho, and I got bad static problems. so I can never get a floppy to work right.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 3:10 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:00 pm
Posts: 430
No need for floppies on the sp12. unlike the 1200 it saves all samples internally. That's why I prefer the 12 over the 1200. half the sampling time but 5 seconds is enough to get by.

_________________
https://mrdavenport.bandcamp.com/
https://soundcloud.com/john-e-davenport-1


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 8:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:17 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
The real thing is the real thing... can't be reproduced etc.

But I ran across this Ableton Rack yesterday. Might be worth trying out for those who lack... the real thing.

E-MU SP1200 effect rack
https://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=121537

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/janglesoul


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 7:22 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:00 pm
Posts: 430
janglesoul wrote:
The real thing is the real thing... can't be reproduced etc.

But I ran across this Ableton Rack yesterday. Might be worth trying out for those who lack... the real thing.

E-MU SP1200 effect rack
https://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=121537


That looks cool, I haven't used ableton in quite a while. I always thought Decimort sounded pretty close. I personally like the sounds I can get out of the 303 using multiple long resampling along with the isolator and the filter as much and possibly more than the sp12/1200, especially with drums. The emu sp's do have a great sound but I think a lot of it is hype which can be duplicated in much more economic ways,

_________________
https://mrdavenport.bandcamp.com/
https://soundcloud.com/john-e-davenport-1


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 2:56 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 288
Location: Adelaide
dayym.. ive come very close to getting my hands on one a couple of times but the sellers have always flaked :evil:

@richiedinero if ya ever wanna get rid of yours please hit me up haaaaaa very jealous.. but yeah, post some links man. love that sound.

_________________
303&404SX&555&1200
http://www.soundcloud.com/alnitak_kid
http://www.alnitak-kid.bandcamp.com
https://www.youtube.com/alnitakkid


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 1:12 pm 
Member

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 12:33 am
Posts: 25
Yo, deadass make some kits.. I got a shit load of sounds I'd like to run through one of those


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 1:31 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 143
Location: TORONTO
Deli Cuts,

Lol your killing me.I just got my 8 channel interface this saturday That's what the hold up was I will be posting some kit's real soon. Oh about the sp1200 sound you'll never get it with software what gave the sp 12&1200 it's unique sound was the SSM2044 filter chips . Alot of old school keyboards were fitted with them a big reason the weren't able to keep making the 1200 was because they ran out of those chip's and some how the blueprint's to make the chips got lost some how.

As for getting close to the sp1200 sound software will come close but were it but there's alot of tweaking you have to do your samples I've used ableton live 8 for a few years and machine there both pretty good but maschine comes the closest . Checkout the video below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_s7QGJOmQJQ


If your trying to do it with the 303,505,404, etc you need to find a way to give your samples the aliasing effect when samples are sampled on 45 and pitch it up by 8 on the turntable and then pitched back down once in the machine. For anyone on a micro budget The ensoniq mirage & akai s612 do this very well . Check video below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VACNZ7XQVz4


Oh if you can't find either of those get a akai s20 or sampltrack st224 That shit is punchy as hell and real dirty that's why they call it the poor man's sp 1200 I have one these in my set used it before I got my 1200 . There dirt cheap on ebay.

AKAIS20
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4IZI2_AEXA

SAMPLTRACK ST224
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BlwaA85PhY


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 1:44 pm 
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 143
Location: TORONTO
Forgot to add this to the post

http://grandgood.com/2008/02/06/pete-ro ... -plug-ins/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:52 pm 
New member

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:38 pm
Posts: 2
Yes the SP1200 is one hell of a piece. I need to repair my last three buttons. Peep this joint I rocked on the SP1200 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-v6CZYma7yY


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: sp 1200
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 2:21 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:51 am
Posts: 185
LO- wrote:
awesome dude, props . you should make some drums kits and share the 12 bit goodness with us. :D If i had a couple grand, I would cop a sp12 turbo, I cant stand floppies tho, and I got bad static problems. so I can never get a floppy to work right.


Hey man, what do you mean about static problems? I noticed that sometimes my MPC's give me a little electric shock. Not on hands but whenever my forearm or some shit touches it. Now that I got MPC60 I been having a few problems with the floppies too.

SP1200 some sick shit mate well done. I really want one too but will probably take the mpc3000 route instead

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/kiyani
http://kiyani.bandcamp.com


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: