It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:33 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:26 pm 
Winner of Silver Medal
Winner of Silver Medal
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:11 am
Posts: 1307
Location: San Diego
Is this just a spaceship beats version of their last workstation keyboards they came out with last year?

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:26 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Austin TX
hseiken wrote:
Is this just a spaceship beats version of their last workstation keyboards they came out with last year?


from what i'm reading : yes!

do you think thats a good or bad thing? and why?

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:29 am 
Winner of Silver Medal
Winner of Silver Medal
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:11 am
Posts: 1307
Location: San Diego
mr.thraz wrote:
hseiken wrote:
Is this just a spaceship beats version of their last workstation keyboards they came out with last year?


from what i'm reading : yes!

do you think thats a good or bad thing? and why?


I don't know. My total time with that model was about 3 minutes and I haven't looked anything up so I have no opinion. :p Based on the specs I read, it seemed pretty good for the price, assuming the build quality stands up to some travel and abuse.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:51 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7153
Location: France-Italy
@mr.thraz
i think FreshSerfPro use one of this casio workstation, i saw it in his signature, you could ask him

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:20 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Greece
I have a xw g1 synth ,it is great for the "last stock"-giveaway price but if anyone wants realistic sounds or fat synths , I would recommend something else (but much more expensive).
But as a groovebox the synth engine is overkill. :D

I found some info:

Number of Samples = 36 user samples

User Samples:
LONG SAMPLING (Up to 9 seconds x 4),
SHORT SAMPLING (Up to 3 seconds x 32)

Sampling Frequency
42 kHz, Monaural


a little disappointed, but I think it will fit to market as hybrid synth/groovebox.

More info at:
http://www.casio-intl.com/asia-mea/en/emi/djproducts/xw-pd1/spec/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 3:54 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Austin TX
korakios wrote:
I have a xw g1 synth ,it is great for the "last stock"-giveaway price but if anyone wants realistic sounds or fat synths , I would recommend something else (but much more expensive).
But as a groovebox the synth engine is overkill. :D

I found some info:

Number of Samples = 36 user samples

User Samples:
LONG SAMPLING (Up to 9 seconds x 4),
SHORT SAMPLING (Up to 3 seconds x 32)

Sampling Frequency
42 kHz, Monaural


a little disappointed, but I think it will fit to market as hybrid synth/groovebox.

More info at:
http://www.casio-intl.com/asia-mea/en/emi/djproducts/xw-pd1/spec/


i wonder what "User Samples" means?

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 4:06 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Austin TX
Image

it has plenty of connectivity. but no place for cards to exspand your sample memory.

Image

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:33 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Austin TX
their keyboards with the same engine has 64 voices at least.

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 1:29 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7153
Location: France-Italy
@mr.thraz from your picture i noticed no hardware midi (maybe only trough sub?)...no rca I/O...all this doesn't sounds great neither cool to me...
anyway is the manual out?

edit
it seems still no manual, but form casio sit i see the specs, and there are interestings features like phrase and step seq, audio slice (chops?), velocity pads and others...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:44 am 
Winner of Silver Medal
Winner of Silver Medal
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:11 am
Posts: 1307
Location: San Diego
ellaguru wrote:
velocity pads


CASIO gets it..roland upgraded the 404 and forgot that shit.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:13 am 
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:58 am
Posts: 51
SebP wrote:
akai is coming out with an analog drum machine too.


Yo!

You were right.

http://www.musicradar.com/us/news/tech/namm-2015-akai-unveils-timbre-wolf-polyphonic-analogue-synth-and-tom-cat-drum-machines-614290


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:10 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Austin TX
fuck it i got geist.

no reason to get stupid.

geist, sp-606, sp-505 and flstudio.
if i can't get it done with that i should hang myself.

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:33 pm 
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Greece
https://www.youtube.com/watch?x-yt-cl=84503534&v=HFfTgD6GfJY&x-yt-ts=1421914688

80% groovebox 20% sampler. :|


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:11 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Austin TX
korakios wrote:

underwelmed!!

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: New Casio Groovebox
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 10:37 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:57 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Austin TX
after seeing the damn thing in action, i want the thing now.

_________________
Boss SP-505,
Roland SP-606,
UbuntuStudio/KXStudio,
https://soundcloud.com/mr-thraz


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: