It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:51 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:41 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:28 am
Posts: 50
Korg's new line of gear.
http://www.korg.com/uk/products/dj/electribe_sampler/
http://www.korg.com/uk/products/dj/electribe/
http://www.korg.com/uk/products/dj/volca_sample/

Gonna have to read up on the new Electribes!
So far they are zinc-diecast, 6aa battery powered and work seamless with Ableton.


Volca Sampler
I don't see a aux/record-in though... might be the sync-in?? It would suck if you NEED an iOS device to upload samples. Probably the same structure as the Beats. Interesting that this is the only digital Volca out. Already got the other 3.. the iOS only app might be a deal breaker for me though.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:30 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 8:03 pm
Posts: 78
Location: New York City
I'm still just getting to know my EMX-1. Definitely interested into the sampler though. I've started getting into techno and minimal house lately. As well as having my own take on trap and EDM I'd like to try on other systems. I also love how companies are starting to move into the direction of both analog and usb midi connection.

_________________
Ronin 77 aka Jade God Hands
Jade Palace Guard
xxx---AKA---xx
David Vs Everything


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:22 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:28 am
Posts: 50
I know what you mean. Been rolling with my Korg set up lately, but these Electribes would probably eliminate the use of some of my gear, and clutter and incorporate the Volcas much easier. I was actually searching craigslist for an Emx for fun today before the news. They're probably not gonna come out probably a year from now so no sweat. Korg takes their sweet time with shipping dates. Waiting on the demos.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:08 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7182
Location: France-Italy
they both seem interesting...i have to found the specs...
at first sight the Electribe seems an sp505+Padkontrol...
edit (electribe specs):
minimum 1giga with SD card, sensitive pads, batteries, key mode on every pad (not like ESX in wich was on only 2 pads), damn, if it has also gate mode (not only one shot like on ES1/ESX), this could be a serious killer...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:10 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 7:12 am
Posts: 1348
Location: tohoku, japan
This is the most exciting news I've seen in years for the sampling community. First, they looked at the microsampler and it's shortcomings then the kaoss pad, taktile and of course used it to make a true (battery powered) electribe.

Damn!!!

Game changed!

Roland just got merced.

Oh and rumor is it'll sell for the price of the 404 sx.

_________________
insert funny comment here.
http://soundcloud.com/jon-ill
http://www.myspace.com/dimjonill


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:54 am 
Member

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:37 am
Posts: 588
Korg taking over .. crucially on all formats .. must have some flat out innovation ideas .. always releasing new equipt ( that the people want) .. dedicated non controller gear too .. watch out .. Korg are going all out .. Electribe sampler! protect ya kneck!

_________________
@krissothegreat

Live life . Love life


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:45 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: PDX, OR
Happy Happy Joy Joy!

Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:52 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: PDX, OR
more info here >> http://createdigitalmusic.com/2014/09/n ... eton-live/


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:47 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7182
Location: France-Italy
i cannot see MIDI even if the review says it is...(????)
in the official Korg specs they say: "MIDI .....In, Out (Use an included MIDI adapter cable)"....maybe it's done by the usb port with something like this...

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:57 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:28 am
Posts: 50
I saw 1/8" inputs as midi. The first time I've seen those was from the midi mod I did to the monotribes. I have 1/8" to 5-pin midi cables.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:21 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 7182
Location: France-Italy
jiggity-j wrote:
I saw 1/8" inputs as midi. The first time I've seen those was from the midi mod I did to the monotribes. I have 1/8" to 5-pin midi cables.

ok now i see better, thanks.

_________________
http://illtrovatore.bandcamp.com/
Youtube
http://www.myspace.com/illtrovatore


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2014 3:12 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:28 am
Posts: 50
Here's a teaser from MistaBishi of a working Electribe:
http://youtu.be/5fLxcViEJp8


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2014 9:06 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:09 am
Posts: 132
I gotta have that! This will replace my 505 nicely.

Elektron OT just lost a sale because theyve been out of parts for too long.

_________________
SP-606, SP-505, Kaossilator KO2, QY70


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:59 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:42 pm
Posts: 497
Location: Des Moines, WA
I had almost figured Korg had finally killed off the tribe, and figuring that software DAWS were the culprit. But I like how you can build a session on Ableton Live, then take it to go with you on the new Electribe. I'm wishing that they went beyond 4 measures, but sync them to a EMX/ESX, and then boom! You've got more synth waveforms/samples to play with. I'm going to have a bit of a problem if I were to get the new Electribe sampler. Too many samplers in my studio!!

_________________
Livin my life in da underground


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Electribe Sampler, Electribe M.P.S, and Volca Sample
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 5:24 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 7:12 am
Posts: 1348
Location: tohoku, japan
I don't think you can build a session on ableton to import. Only export from the tribe afaik.

_________________
insert funny comment here.
http://soundcloud.com/jon-ill
http://www.myspace.com/dimjonill


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: