It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:18 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: drive too fk'n busy???
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 4:42 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:59 pm
Posts: 40
as jay would say, "what the fuuuuuck"...

This sucks. I installed a 250mb drive and I'm really digging into the multitrack recorder section, which I guess is a bad idea, because when trying to bounce tracks I just keep getting Drive Too Busy errors. Guess the main workaround is getting another SP-808 to bounce to from the first one. :evil:

_________________
www.myspace.com/fluent2332

www.myspace.com/uncutraw42

www.myspace.com/thecityslick

BUMP THAT RAW SHIT!!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: drive too fk'n busy???
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 4:50 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:47 am
Posts: 687
Location: Gothenburg SE
Bounce to a second machine would be easiest.

One in-box solution I've heard about is slowing the vari-pitch to slowest possible before bouncing to a new track. The slower speed supposedly gives the sp more time to get around the disc, potentially avoiding drive-too-busy errors.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/l_i_f
https://l-i-f.bandcamp.com/
_________________

SP-808 | SP-303 | SP-555 | SP-404sx | Ableton 9 | Tascam 244 | Adobe Audition 1.5


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: drive too fk'n busy???
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 5:06 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:59 pm
Posts: 40
l i f wrote:
Bounce to a second machine would be easiest.

One in-box solution I've heard about is slowing the vari-pitch to slowest possible before bouncing to a new track. The slower speed supposedly gives the sp more time to get around the disc, potentially avoiding drive-too-busy errors.


Yeah, that's fine for short stuff I guess, but when I have 3 tracks used in the multitrack that are each 3 minutes long, no way am I going to bounce that at 25%. Audio tracks mind you. Well, "pad performances" of 3 really long "samples", which are just long takes of me playing outboard instruments.

I managed to solve it by bouncing 2 of the tracks to track D, then bouncing C+D to B. Wondering if in the future it would use less internal memory to record those long instrument sessions directly to audio instead of pad samples...

_________________
www.myspace.com/fluent2332

www.myspace.com/uncutraw42

www.myspace.com/thecityslick

BUMP THAT RAW SHIT!!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: drive too fk'n busy???
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 10:34 pm 
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:59 pm
Posts: 40
So would you guys say this is more of a "bad drive" issue? Maybe the 250mb drive I bought is a crappy one, or the disc itself I'm using (both were brand new, but maybe a different brand or something would work better?) I'm trying to figure it out, because my beats aren't that complex. All I am doing is using the multitrack section to basically trigger long one-shots (2+ minutes long, but still one long sample.) So eventually I have 3 of them going while trying to record the 4th track, traditional 4-track style, and it freezes up with the Drive Too Busy nonsense. I thought that was only supposed to happen on very complex beats, i.e. when you are trying to sequence a lot of one-shot drums, etc..? Which led me to think I should try a different drive possibly. Any ideas?

_________________
www.myspace.com/fluent2332

www.myspace.com/uncutraw42

www.myspace.com/thecityslick

BUMP THAT RAW SHIT!!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: