It is currently Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:28 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to properly change pitch on sp-303?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:50 am 
Member

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:28 pm
Posts: 19
I need you guys' help badly! Im tryin to make a bassline, (never have on the sp-303), by putting in a single bassnote and changing the pitch. Yet, when i try to change the pitch (not just for bass but any sound), they always get all weird and distorted, and i can only really use a range of pitch between like 10 and 2 o'clock on the 1st knob...i make sure that ctrl 3 knob is turned up all the way, ctrl 2 down all the way, then use ctrl 1 to actually change pitch.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: How to properly change pitch on sp-303?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 11:45 am 
303 Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 4586
Location: Narnia
This is not the machine for accurate pitch shifting, this free program can ptich shift nicely though.http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/savedbythesmell
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: How to properly change pitch on sp-303?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:13 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:28 pm
Posts: 19
thank you for the response and the link, however it doesnt really answer my question. If you watch this video :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zf_VPz2hTPY

at 0:55 to about 1:12 he just changes the pitch and it also changes the tempo, easily without any weird feedback like i get...maybe im not doing it the way he does, i cant really tell in the video.

once again, any help is greatly appreciated (but try to answer the question instead of link me to audacity =D)


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: How to properly change pitch on sp-303?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:36 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:03 pm
Posts: 575
Location: Toronto, CANADA
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=7876

That video is brought up a bit further down in the topic, Formal and Ill Green will have your answer.

The 303 really isnt useful for pitching at all unfortunately.

_________________
http://knapsackwax.com
http://www.youtube.com/knapsackwax

Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: How to properly change pitch on sp-303?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:37 pm 
Member

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:28 pm
Posts: 19
Thank you very much for the link to that thread, cleared everything up for me. So i guess I should use the alternative that the previous person mentioned, just use Audacity for changing pitch


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: How to properly change pitch on sp-303?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 8:19 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:03 pm
Posts: 575
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Yeah man, audacity is a nice little program if you have a computer where your making music. But if your like me and dont, you could even look into a 4 track recorder of some sort. I often use my tascam for pitching sounds, not a bad alternative.

_________________
http://knapsackwax.com
http://www.youtube.com/knapsackwax

Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: