It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:25 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SYNC SP-303-MICROKORG MIDI!
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:20 am 
New member

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:12 am
Posts: 2
Hi to everyone,
Although I've been messing around with the SP-303 for about 3 years, now It's the first time that I'm trying to sync it with another machine via MIDI, in this case a Microkorg. The thing is that I'm not able to sync the arpeggiator of the microkorg to the tempo of the samples/patterns. I don't have a clue of what to do. I even have the manuals but... Can someone explain me step by step what do I have to do?
Sorry, because I know that this is a really easy thing.
Thanks for your time.

Greetings from Spain


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:45 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 779
Is it that you can't set the tempo of the machine, or you really want the clock of the microkorg to match and "start" your 303 pattern.

Tell me what you wanna do exactly.


I know more about the microkorg than the SP.

_________________
Image

BANDCAMP OF DOOM


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 9:29 am 
New member

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:12 am
Posts: 2
I want the clock of the microkorg to match and "start" the 303 pattern. Can match just samples as well?
Thanks!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:23 pm 
New member

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:18 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Chicago
I second this question! I just can't figure out how to sync the clocks.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:10 am 
Funniest Member of the Year '09

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:06 am
Posts: 1878
the best way i know of is just to sample it, it keeps the tempo the same.

_________________
I/O - EHT - Evangelist.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:10 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 4:35 am
Posts: 1199
Location: Bitch, I'm from Arkansas.
You can't. You'd need something sending the sync to the MK then from the MK to the 303. Study some MIDI, start here...
http://www.tweakheadz.com/how_to_get_st ... _midi.html

_________________
AKA the hematurge, Hemat, Hema, Herm

hematurge.bandcamp.com

SPoogle <--sp-forums custom google search.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:32 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 2301
Location: Adelaide
yeah neither the SPs or the microkorg send out midi clock info on their own..

You need something like a groovebox, sequencer, or some kind of midi clock generating box whose sole purpose is to do such things.

If you have a computer you could use a software sequencer to do it.

_________________
Samples.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:30 am 
303 Award Winner '09
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 4578
Location: Narnia
Some kind of DAW and an audio interface would definitely handle that and if you want hardware I hear the yamaha qy100 is very handy.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/savedbythesmell
Image


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SYNC SP-303-MICROKORG MIDI!
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:23 pm 
New member

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:15 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Oakland, CA
Bumping this because this was where I thought I'd finally find my answer, but alas....

First day on this forum, nice to meet y'all!

I want the clock of my Korg ER-1 drum machine to match and start my 303 samples/patterns. I tried to use the manual section about syncing a sample to a drum machine, but the sample won't start when I hit play on the ER-1. They are on the same channel.

The sample is on pad 1, and there are samples that are on pads 2 & 3 that i can trigger with certain drum hits on the ER-1. Technically, I could resample the sample on pad 1 to pad 2 or 3, but really I'd like to know if anyone can link me to a detailed thread or video on how to sync a drum machine to the 303.

Alternatively, I live in Oakland, CA and if there are any 303 users here in The Town I'd be stoked to grab a coffee and shoot the 303 shit.

Thanks!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: