It is currently Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:47 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SP-303 “err”
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:40 pm 
New member

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:25 pm
Posts: 3
Hello sp-forums!
Just got my 303 in and excited to join y’all, but the “err” message that it shipped with has proven harder to get rid of than I thought. So far I have tried-
- resetting the internal memory- doesn’t respond to that, can’t get it to the “init” screen
- reflashing the OS via smartmedia- since the 303 has never worked for me I don’t have a card that has been formatted by a 303, nowhere I can go with that at the moment
- reflashing the OS via SMF/midi- this might be the most telling- I got it to receive the midi messages from the first midi file, but once it reaches the “1F” portion it begins flashing “err” and then “10” alternately.
-lastly, I opened it up to see if there was any glaring damage, but there was none that I could find

Is this thing completely bricked or is there hope? Maybe someone with the service manual might have some insight into the “err”/“10” message? If anyone can provide me with any information I would be eternally grateful!


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP-303 “err”
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:05 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:44 am
Posts: 224
Err 10 is a self test error for "Card not protected". It is trying to find the silver dot on the smart media card.

Did you buy this on ebay?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP-303 “err”
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:49 am 
New member

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:25 pm
Posts: 3
Yes I did buy it from eBay fairly recently
So I guess I have to find an SM write protect sticker and keep the smartmedia card in the 303 even if I’m loading the os via midi?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP-303 “err”
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 12:54 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:44 am
Posts: 224
No. No need to buy a card.
Guessing you bought it from Dalyn S.? That guy just sells fucked up shit. It's a brick. Good luck.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: SP-303 “err”
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 6:16 pm 
New member

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:25 pm
Posts: 3
Yeah, that’s who it was, dang. Do you think reflashing it with a 303-formatted SM card would work? Or do you think the motherboard is fried? I know it’s probably hard to tell at this point, but the board looks really clean. Any other diagnostics I can do?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: