It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:57 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error state
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:10 pm 
New member

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:07 pm
Posts: 6
I jsut bought a sp303 and it got an err0 display which means somethign is wrong with the ROM- im going to try to reflash the OS but i dont think the card is correctly formatted and the machine cant format it because its not getting past the error.

is there any other way to format the card other than putting it in someone elses machine?

tia :)


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 7:03 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:44 am
Posts: 140
I think the best would be to try and update the OS through the midi port.

Is it going directly to ERR0 when you turn it on? Or are you getting Err0 after you check the OS on it?
Have you tried resetting it to the factory default yet?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:34 am 
New member

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:07 pm
Posts: 6
straight to err 0. when i press the OS button combo on startup it displays;

UEr
Crd
Err
0
Err
0
Err
0
Err
0
Err
0

etc


what lead do i need to update via midi from my mac? this one? https://www.thomann.de/gb/thomann_midi_ ... QIQAvD_BwE


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:42 am 
New member

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:07 pm
Posts: 6
sorry double post but in answer to the factory reset it just goes direct to solid Err, no '0'


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:56 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:44 am
Posts: 140
Sorry, just to be clear. If you turn it on without touching any buttons it is going to err0? Or only when you are turning it on with the "check OS" button combination?
If everything works as it should and the err0 is showing up after the os flashes on the screen, that has nothing to do with the error list in the manual and the unit is perfectly fine.


I guess I assumed that you already had an audio interface and a midi cable. I would think that the cable you linked would work but can't say for sure as I've never used it and I can't open the "read me" file from the mac update on my computer.
https://www.boss.info/us/support/by_pro ... s_drivers/
I have one of these m-audio cables
https://www.thomann.de/gb/maudio_midisp ... r_274906_1
and was going to try it out but there only seems to be a mac version for updating by midi.

If it is in Err0 right when you turn it on, unless you got it for hella cheap and don't mind spending a little bit of money on the cable, you might want to return it if this was not disclosed. You could also open it up and see if there are any broken solder joints around that 4mb ram chip.

Also, have you tried turning it on without the card in it?


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 8:30 pm 
New member

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:07 pm
Posts: 6
It's err-0 straight off the bat,not working at all.

I did get it cheap with the error declared so I knew what I was getting into, well kinda. Ill get a cable and give it a shot before I heat up the ROM joints. Or maybe I'll do that while I'm waiting, I've got a hot air station. 8)


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:19 pm 
New member

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:07 pm
Posts: 6
i got the cable and tried the update and it started to update- the display started counting up but then it got stuck on Err 10 'Card is not Protected'??? how do i protect the card?

i tried powering on pressing REMAIN but just Err coming up again


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:54 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:44 am
Posts: 140
Have you tried installing the OS without the card in there?

I think card not protected is referring to the round foil that can be stuck to the smart media card so that it cannot be overwritten. If you look at the card there is a little circle on it, that is where you would put the protection sticker.

I remember the service manual had a section concerning the various test of the unit, that section refers to using the "stock" card and a "protected" card for different test and operations. I would assume the machine is expecting the protected card to be in there while it runs its checksums or whatever it is doing.

Try it without the card in there.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 9:15 pm 
New member

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:07 pm
Posts: 6
first of all, thanks for sticking with me! I really do appreciate it.

I tried this without the card, and every SMF file from 1-8 returned an Err-10 error when it got to the checksum, with the exception of number 8 which returned a 0.0.0 checksum and the number 8 pad lit up, like it should for all of them.

i also reflowed the memory chip just in case.

im about ready to launch this thing into the sea, or at least back onto ebay


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject: Re: Formatting a Smart MEdia card when the 303 is in error s
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2018 7:37 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:44 am
Posts: 140
These I think are my last few guesses. If they don't work I think I'm out of ideas.

Scan the service manual for the word "Protect" and look at Circuit Diagram (Digital2) Whatever IC14 is has a pin labeled "protect" that connects to the smartmedia card. Maybe check the smartmedia side joints and the joints on IC14

OR:

I think you need to try it with the little protect sticker on the card. As you keep getting Err10

From the Manual

13. PROTECT CHECK
Check the SmartMedia protect function.
Attach a write protect seal to the SmartMedia used in [8. Card Check].
Insert the card when the power of the SP-303 is turned off.
Turn on the power.
Press the BANK [C] button
Press the [REC] button
At this time, check that “Prt” appears.
All tests are now completed.

OR:
Find someone in your country on here that you can mail your card to so that they can 1) Verify that the card is good and working and 2) format, put the operating system on it and mail it back to you.

One more thought:

Slap that shit back on ebay because it is f*cked.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: