It is currently Thu Oct 24, 2019 2:21 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Got my 303...sound out of headphones is mono?
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 7:01 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
I dunno, I'm sampling in through the mic input on the front for now and am using regular Audio Technica stereo headphones and the only way I can get sound on both sides is to pull the headphone jack out a bit...

it doesn't make sense to me because even if it's a mono sound, it should represented equally on both sides and not only on the right?

any advice would be appreciated, it's pretty frustrating because I'm on the road and right now the headphone jack is my only go-to

I'll report back if I find the answer, but if you have advice or ran across the same thing, holler at me

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 2:42 am 
Member

Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:23 am
Posts: 19
I have to jiggle my headphone plug around and pull it out about 1/8 of an inch for it to be in stereo. Try that. I'm not sure why it works that way, but it works just fine.


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 6:31 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
my shit is busted man, I'm gonna have to paypal claim this dude I think...only one mono out works and mono out of the headphone as well...

do you think I could do a system reset and have it work again? or is that defintely something that can't be fixed? might be back on that 404 tip sooon

BEIRD!

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 3:58 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
well I'm screwed, I'm going to call Roland tommorow and get this thing refurbished if they'll do it....

it was giving me "Err" messages and all

Aaaaaand for those of you using Paypal, they only have claims that apply to the "shipment" of the item, not the condition of the item so my case was automatically closed...oh well

I'll keep this thread updated since there isn't anything else being posted in the 303 forum haha

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 4:08 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 2288
Location: Berlin, Germany
:cry: that's bad luck man


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 4:21 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
I know man, I'm heated

a bunch of stuff went wrong with this 303 experience, I ordered a sm to xd adapter...never came, got the 303....didn't work, so now I have like 7 64 mb memory cards that I was going to save the beats I made for Beird on but couldn't and ended up deleting all the beats I made so I could make more which probably equals bad mixes I can't fix and ultimately a waste of time, a broken machine and a zip lock full or memory cards

I'll get it straightened out though

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 10:24 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
talked to Roland today and sent it out FedEx ground shortly after

I'll keep this thread updated with how much it will cost to fix, and also turnaround time...the dude on the phone at Roland was really cool though and I guess there are certified shops in surrounding cities that can repair them, but I don't want to drive to those places and just elected to ship it to Roland since they know their machines in and out...

dude who I got the card reader from sent me a refund since it never came..

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 7:24 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:35 am
Posts: 2288
Location: Berlin, Germany
that's cool man,
the 're-fit' might be worth the extra wait/expense...a little check-up from the Roland technicians can't hurt : )


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 5:57 am 
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:45 am
Posts: 31
and the beird goes on....

_________________
It all goes back to the raps and the breaks/a legacy you can trace straight back to my crates...


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 5:58 am 
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:45 am
Posts: 31
you cant stop the beird,you can only hope to contain it

_________________
It all goes back to the raps and the breaks/a legacy you can trace straight back to my crates...


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 3:00 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
haha! yo, I'm having 303 withdrawl for real, hitting that piece like 12 hours everyday while your cat stared at me

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 3:06 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 9:04 pm
Posts: 527
Deta!L wrote:
haha! yo, I'm having 303 withdrawl for real, hitting that piece like 12 hours everyday while your cat stared at me



so you got it repaired by roland? Post some beats cause' I really like your other shit.

Post 'em up.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/mastahofjazzfu


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 3:23 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
yeah, I just sent it to them so I have to wait for the damage when they figure out what's wrong, then wait for it to come back...

thanks for the props man, I'll be posting something special in the next few weeks.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2008 7:23 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
so it was delivered late yesterday, let the official diagnosis count down begin on Monday to be fair...

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 5:26 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm
Posts: 494
So I got the email today that the 303 is ready...dont know what was wrong with it, I guess I'll wait until it gets here to see for sure...if not, I'm going to call and talk to the Roland guys about it.

total cost was $35 labor + $20 shipping

the guy said that I should be using the PSB-1U adapter instead of the one that I was using, which was the one the guy shipped with it. It said Roland on it and had a red label so I'm assuming it was the original one that came with the 303.

Maybe they have had problems with the old units and now recommend a different one? At any rate, I can't even get the one they recommend (PSB-1U) as it's out of stock...so I'll have to check back and also have to pay for shipping again, hopefully it's not $20.

do any of yall have that power suppy with the red Boss sticker on it?

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/platypusbeird


Offline
 Profile  
Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: